What's new

Perfect Dark Blur Effect Problems

rampaging-poet

Hello everybody, I'm just a lowly noob who will like never show my face around again, but I couldn't seem to find an answer to an issue that's really been bugging me.
The issue in question is the fact that I can't seem to get the blur effect to work properly in Perfect Dark. It works fine with the default plugin (and I have indeed used the default plugin for some time now), but I'd really like to be able to use hi-res texture packs and whatnot and I can't get it working properly with the other two video plugins I have.

The first of these plugins is Mudlord's version of Rice's plugin, version 6.1.4. With this plugin, a single punch/tranquilizer shot causes the screen to go almost completely black. This darkness fades in time, but makes the game almost completely unplayable until it does. I've fiddled with most everything, but nothing works quite right and some configurations (especially framebuffer stuff) crash the emulator.
I also seem to be getting some choppiness whenever any character is nearby, but I'm sure I managed to clear that up on my own once and I can probably fix it again if I have to.

The second non-default plugin I have is Glide64 Napalm 1.0. When I turn on framebuffer effects and motion blur, the game freezes momentarily the first time the motion blur effect is used, then runs at about 80% speed until the effect dissipates.
With framebuffer off but motion blur on, I get a darkness effect similar to what I get out of Mudlord's Rice plugin, but significantly less dark and more playable. This darkness effect also freezes for a moment when it is first seen, but not for as long. However, there is a lot of choppiness while the darkness lasts.
The rest of the game runs just fine when the motion blur is turned off, but if I didn't want motion blur, I wouldn't have posted this.