What's new

pentium 3 or celeron?

Ruthless_Edge

owns a dollar-can buy your ass
Hello this is my shameless thread to stick my nose out and introduce myself...I am a noob *ducks to try and avoid any possible projectile objects* to the Emutalk forums. However, I am just a noob as I signed up just today. I have followed Emutalk ever since emulation64 merged with emutalk etc (or however it went, cant remember now.) anyways, I love the site and format. It always keeps me updated as im a major emulation gaming freak. As a matter of fact, emulation is what got me started and into computers in general. I know quite a bit about computers, but I don't savvy myself as a guru or geek.

So hello everyone and welcome me. You all seem like a very nice community and you all also seem friendly.

My question is (to make this not a worthless thread) which is better? As you can see in my specs, im using a celeron but basically what im wanting to know is lets say for example I tried in the same machine my specs are under, would a pentium 3 outperform a celeron of the same speed?

I've done alot of research on my crappy desktop system. Basically because of the motherboard, nothing can be upgraded any further except the memory, but only to a full 512mb. So basically its at its peak performance, and I think it shows when the computer is in extensive use for a good while, and once you turn off the system, and open the case, pretty much every major part inside is close enough to being too hot to touch if it got any hotter.

right now I cannot afford upgrading to a newer system. But I was just wondering out of curiousity if a pentuim 3 is better because thats the only other processor that can be switched with. maximum speed is 1.4 ghz as well.

Also, I was wondering if it did, what kind of performance increase would it provide?

Thanks for your answers. I hope to be a good member and not bug any of you (good luck with that by the way)

GCFreak