What's new

What emulators should I write?

kucalc

Hello, I'm new here. I'm a programmer for the CASIO fx-9860 graphing calculator. I'm wandering if you can help me out on what emulators should I now write for my graphing calculator. I've recently just finished writing my S/CHIP-8 Emulator: http://www.casiocalc.org/?showtopic=3186

And also Space Invaders: http://www.casiocalc.org/?showtopic=3152

I need help in deciding my next emulator to write. Is there a old system out there that has a resolution of 128x64 or less that I could emulate? Speed won't be a problem as the fx-9860 is currently the fastest graphing calculator just behind by a little, the HP-50g.

OP
K

kucalc

Yep, your games do work on my emulator. So, is CHIP-8 the only game system that has a resolution of 128x64 or less? I guess then I'll try writing a HP emulator, maybe perhaps the HP-48 series. Where can I get tech docs and specs on these calculators?

hap

I don't know of any other straightforward-to-emulate* game systems with a low resolution and monochrome graphics. I don't know much about the HP-48 either :p But I do know the resolution size is low (131*64, you can remove 3 pixels from the border to get around the larger width problem), it's got monochrome graphics, and the potentional userbase is high since you'd be writing it for an audience already interested in calculators.

*: CPU based instead of discrete components, eg. emulating Pong would be a PITA

A good HP calculator site: http://www.hpcalc.org/

Cyberman

Don't you mean SHRINKing filter? LOL

How about asteroids? That might be somewhat doable. Or perhaps an asteroids type game. Unless you want to emulate a Blood temperature monitoring system I wrote (LOL) it used a 128x64 LCD :D

Cyb

Lord Budweiser

Ebul Overlord
A port of tetris would be a good idea... lotta people loves tetris, and it would please quite a ammount of people who uses this calculator.

EDIT: And what about game & watch? would this fit?

Cyberman