What's new

Setting Up a Joystick

Solinari®

I was wondering if some could help to set up a Joystick for Project 64. I know basically how to set it up manually, but i am unsure what buttons i should use.

The Joystick i have is a Trust QZ501 Predator, i know it's nothing facny, just a cheapo, but it is good for Battlefield 2. I am sure it would work well for games like Star Fox or Mario Kart, but as i said, i am having difficultly setting the Joystick up correctly.

So what i was hoping for is a Controller Profile for a Joystick, if they exist at all, i don't know. I'm sure you can tell i am new to this, so i don't know if such things exist for download. If there are Joystick Profiles, i would be grateful if someone could point me in the right direction.

If no one knows about any Joystick Profiles, then i was hoping someone could help me set up a Joystick for the games i mentioned before like Star Fox.

Thanks.

Peace :)

Agozer

16-bit Corpse | Moderator
It would be nice if you can show a picture of the button layout of your controller. As a general rule, set up your buttons in pattern similar to that of the original N64, if possible.

If you don't know what the N64 controller button layout looks like, do a simple Google Image search.

Tre

Oops. Died again.
And if your controller is in the PS/x style, I'd recommend mapping your Z-Trigger and R-buttons to the shoulder-buttons on your controller. Since a few of the most popular games used the "Z" button as a pseudo-"L-button" for things ranging from Strife to Shields.

OP
S

Solinari®

Thanks for the replies.

It isn't a control pad i have, it's a joystick that obviously bares zero resemblance to the N64 controller.

I am able to set up the controls, but i thought there may be pre made profiles out there that are made for specific games and game controllers like joysticks etc.

Tre

Oops. Died again.