What's new

SDL graphics help???

TJA

I'm new to graphics programming so I thought I would try implementing some graphics for my phoenix arcade emulator before moving on anymore on my GameBoy emulator, did my chip8 emulator in SDL and decided to use it again, all other code on my phoenix emulator works fine, its just implementing graphics that I'm having trouble with, I'm not 100% about the code I'm using to implement the palettes but it still should be displaying something the program starts up a display window is created then it hangs. I'm not sure how to find the problem, so I though I would post my code so someone might give me a hand.
My graphics code is based on the code found in JABAWAPE v0.8 emu which uses allegro.

I appologise for the code to some parts are a little messy and theres a bit of old code hanging around that I will remove/modify as soon as I get the graphics going.

Any help/suggestion appreciated

Cheers, TJA.

Code updated with fix ( graphics still not working correctlt)

Last edited:

bcrew1375

Are you periodically processing SDL's events? It will hang with a white window if you don't deal with them.

Something like: SDLPumpEvents()

OP
T

TJA

Thanks, bcrew its always something simple it doesn't lock up anymore, now I just have to figure out why nothing is being displayed.

Cheers, TJA

OP
T

TJA

I have some display now, It seems the graphics is being drawn to the correct locations I'm just having trouble with the palettes and combining the background and forground image.

I have uploaded my latest code incase someone can help me.

Cheers TJA.

Last edited:
OP
T

TJA