What's new

Office 2007 Current State

t0rek

Wilson's Friend
With all the news regarding about Vista RC1 release fanfare, it's difficult to find something about Office. Do you guys know when it's going to be released, is there going to be an RC1 for it?

Live4ever1

Noob Till I Die
Well ive been using a pre release of office pro 2007 and it apparently is goin to be realeased for the public the same time as vista in Jan 2007. Office 12 is brilliant btw just hard to get used to and the new .docx format files.

Zoomer

If you haven't already heard of Open Office, run - don't walk - to their site immediateley and download it.

Open Office is a free, open source office suite that, in my opinion, far exceeds what the current MS Office can do. Open Office has an answer to every MS program ( Word = Writer, Excel = Calc, etc ) & even has the ability to open & save to microsoft's file format. This means you can still open .doc files, etc.
I've been using Open Office for the last 6 months and I have no intention of ever going back to MS for office ever again. Go open source!

ScottJC

At your service, dood!
This thread isn't about Open Office (which imho sucks balls - see your opinion isn't absolute), it's about Microsoft Office 2007. To each their own but your post is not relative here.

I'll see about getting my hands on Office 2007 (if its available) to try it out as i've been quite pleased with MS's new software.

edit: Ok there is a way to get your hands on Office 2007 beta, here: http://www.microsoft.com/office/preview/default.mspx

however the greedy bastards want £1.20 off me to download it... ehhh i'll pay it this time but thats just because i'm in a good mood :D - Office 2007 Professional beta here I come! (downloading now)

Edit2: Wow, i'm really impressed by the first look of this (see attachment), gui has improved... application boots up incredibly fast, installs quicker. Pretty chuffed that i'm using pretty much all state of the art software hehe.

Last edited: