What's new

My Desktop Vista DIED! Help!

MasterPhW

Master of the Emulation Flame
Whoa... what a last holiday day!
As some of you know, I am studying 500km away from home, that's the reason my desktop rig isn't updated for a long time. But I installed Vista some month ago, because of the MSDNAA deal of our university and some Vista related coding and testing.
I didn't had any problem the last few month, my parents used it most of the time for internet surfing and playing games. Auto update was activated and secured with spyware blocker and such stuff. So nothing big at all.
But yesterday it happened: I shutdown my PC to restart it and it didn't started! The loading screen appears but after that it's all black.
I tried "last known config" and all the other options, even safe mode didn't helped.
Last thing I see is "Loading:\windows\system32\drivers\crcdisk" than it stops responding. I've searched on Google and saw, that a lot other guys had the same problem, but there doesn't seems to be a fix...
Probably some of you guys knows a fix.
I've read, that I have to rename or delete C:\windows\system32\drivers\pcmcia.sys and C:\windows\system32\driverstore\filerepository\pcm cia.inf_539d553e, but I wonder how to do... I can't come into my system folder at all and even in Linux (knoppix distro) I coulnd't rename these files. "You are not allowed to..." was the message!
I read about Windows PE 2.0, but I didn't found it yet, it would probably a solution, but probably not.
I'm really pissed, because already back at university and my desktop rig is at home and isn't working. I'll try to fix it at the weekend, but I need some advices... here are a lot guys with a great CPU knowledge, but I don't know about Vista. We'll see...
And please, I don't need to get answers like: Vista SUX use XP instead or Linux is better, ebcause like I already stated I need it for coding and testing.
Very long text and short story: help me!
I've also posted it on NGEmu...

smcd