What's new

mupen64, glN64, and Rice video have been ported to Darwin (X11/GTK2/SDL on MacOS)

dtm

Ok I deleted my previous post because it's totally obsolete. Let's start over, shall we?

Emulation now works on Darwin (X11/gtk2/SDL)! \o/ It's not *playable* due to lack of input device.

Various people from #fink on irc.freenode.net have worked with me on porting Mupen64, glN64, and Rice video to Darwin (X11/gtk2/SDL). I got em started and they did almost all of the work. ;) Thanks mainly to Feanor, who did 90% of the work because I'm not a programmer (I just play one on irc). I don't think it'll work on pure Darwin because it does just barely use Cocoa for the SDL display, because fink's SDL doesn't work properly on MacOS. Hacktarux and friends just fixed dynarec!

This differs from the Cocoa port in that it has plugin support, it has dynarec, and Rice has been buggily ported! We actually fixed the problems with the uniqueness of Darwin's handling of shared objects.

It's only been tested on Intel MacOS at the moment. It appears to run at full speed on a 2GHz core2duo iMac.

Procedure:

* Download the mupen64 source: http://mupen64.emulation64.com/files/0.5/mupen64_src-0.5.tar.bz2

* Download our mupen64 patch:
http://smuckola.org/projects/mupen64/mupen64_src-0.5-darwin.diff

* Assuming you have xcode, fink, and xorg or the equivalent installed, start an xterm (not Terminal.app) and do this: cd mupen64_src-0.5-darwin ; cat ../mupen64_src-0.5-darwin.diff | patch -p1 && ./configure --prefix=/usr/local && make

* Download the Rice video source: http://emutalk.net/showthread.php?t=41037

* Download our Rice video patch: http://smuckola.org/projects/mupen64/RiceVideo610-darwin.diff

* Patch Rice similarly and copy the .so and .ini from its dir into mupen64's plugins folder.

* Start mupen64, enable dynarec mode, enable Rice or glN64, enable SDL audio. Possibly edit the jttl_audio.conf's buffer sizes to prevent audio skipping.

Current flaws: