What's new

gamepad analog sticks sorta weird

the_neiler

Okay, now, I've been sorta struggling with this problem all day, and basically from when I started playing with N64 emulators.

I use gamepads to play my games, since keyboard alone is a bit hard (especially when going multiplayer). I'm currently using the Saitek P990 gamepad, since it has 6 face buttons.

Now, my problem is that the left analog stick I use to play the games behaves much as if it was digital. I can move in 8 directions, with no variation in intensity. I either run, or I don't move. There's no trot or walk or anything, just run.

I've tried different plugins and they all return the same result. I tried a different controller (a Logitech dual-analog controller w/ rumble) and that actually worked, but I like my Saitek one better.

Any way to make the analog sticks work correctly? Willing to post any information you ask for (this is my first post, and I'm not sure how informative it really is).

Iconoclast

Jabo's DirectInput, N64 VirtualPad and N-Rage's DirectInput all support analog control sensitivity adjustment.

in dinput it is deadzone, in n64vp it's analog stick/range

OP
T

the_neiler

Jabo's DirectInput, N64 VirtualPad and N-Rage's DirectInput all support analog control sensitivity adjustment.

in dinput it is deadzone, in n64vp it's analog stick/range

Changing the deadzone doesn't do anything -- it just makes me have to push the joystick a little further before the movement registers as 100% with no in-between values.

And changing the range of it will only change the cap on how high the movement will register. So instead of going 0-100% with no in-between, it'll go maybe 0-70% also with no in-between.

Are there any other things I can do?

Allnatural

I notice that your controller has a digital/analog swap button (as many do). Your sticks are currently in digital mode. Press the button...

OP
T

the_neiler