What's new

A few questions

BlackIchor

Hello,

I needed help with a few things. My first question is, how do I manually configure the buttons on my controller? I'm using 1964, and the controller I'm using is a PS2 controller hooked up via a USB adapter. The left analog stick works just fine, and all the buttons seem to work, but the mapping is quite strange...the triangle button was mapped as the B button, the square button as the A button, select as Z, and all the others mixed up. When I go into controller configuration and click on button options to manually set them, it simply closes the 1964 program. Mind you, games are playable in this configuration, it's just not my choice of button layouts.

Also, though I risk sounding like an ignorant newbie and thus incurring flame mail, I had some problems in certain games. While I am not a newbie to emulators (I have MAME32, Magic Engine, FCEUltra, Gens, and others), 1964 is the first N64 emulator that I have managed to actually run games on successfully. However, 1964 seems to be a great deal more complex and technical than other emulators. Given the complexity of the N64 hardware, I guess it's not surprising.

Anyway, I need to get to the point. Certain games such as F-Zero X, Diddy's Kong Racing and Super Mario 64 seem to run just fine, with minimal to no glitchiness/GFX errors. However, in certain games, usually the Rare games like Donkey Kong 64, Banjo-Kazooie, and Killer Instinct Gold, I encounter serious sound problems/skipping, and such. Paper Mario is a great game, a classic, but in certain parts, I'm seeing things like rampant flickering of building GFXs/polys, and it's rather maddening. It's still playable though. I checked Olaf's emulation page and it recommended changing certain settings, which I did, and it didn't fix it. Killer Instinct Gold is completely unplayable, due to trailing broken images filling the screen, and other errors.