Page 1 of 10 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 96
  1. #1
    Emulator Developer Rice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    U.S.
    Posts
    1,578
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Here it is, the Unofficial Daedalus D3D8 plugin binary

    Just like StrmnNrmn, I would like to get the plugin out, then I can start to merge the two different versions of the Daedalus D3D plugin, StrmnNrmn version and my version.

    Another reason for me to do this release is because I need to a take some rest, to ease myself from sitting before the computer the whole day and do nothing but typing code.

    Just like the name of the plugin, Daedalus D3D8 0.08, D3D8 = DirectX/Direct3D 8.0+, so you need DirectX 8.0 or 8.1 to use this plugin.

    It is developed with Geforce2 video card only, for other video card, I believe there will be few or many combiner (Alpha blending) problem because different video card is implemented DirectX support differently.

    There are many improvement in this version by comparing to my earlier version (the unofficial DaedalusD3D 0.7b), though speed could be slower because DirectX 8.0+ is somehow slower than DX7, or just because I have added many things and have never done good optimization. I am using PIII-600/512M RAM/Geforce2 system, the speed is ok for me for most games, some games are really slow for reason to be studied.

    Major improvements are Sprite2D, S2DEX, texture handling, new ucodes (used to be unknown), plus StrmnNrmn's new automatic ucode detecting, of course, a lot of bug fixes.

    You should expect many games that were used to miss text, menu or graphics, are now running more or less better, or just playable now. I don't want to make a list, but I have post some screen shots in another thread, which covers some of these games.

    Don't expect everything working as you expected, because you might have expected too much.

    Pay attention to some of the new options in the configuration dialog box, especially the "Smart Screen Update" option. It is turned off by default, but many of the improved games need it to be on, so if a game should work but you see just a black/white screen, stop the game, turn the option on and restart the game.

    There are other known problem. One of them is the plugin can only play a few games, then it starts to report DirectX error. Then you need to restart your emu, so the refresh the plugin. I hope I can fix this problem soon, it is caused some of the DirectX resources are not released correctly.

    It is about it, so try it yourself, don't blame if it doesn't work because it is a unofficial one, and it is WIP.



    Rice
    - Rice
    http://1964emu.emulation64.com

  2. #2
    Emulator Developer Rice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    U.S.
    Posts
    1,578
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    ops, missed the attachment.
    - Rice
    http://1964emu.emulation64.com

  3. #3
    Emulator Developer Rice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    U.S.
    Posts
    1,578
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Only tested it with 1964, it should work with other emulators.
    - Rice
    http://1964emu.emulation64.com

  4. #4
    Moderator Quvack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    581
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Ahhh this is cool nice work

  5. #5
    I Run This Eddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    549
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    thanks rice
    I Run This

  6. #6
    Emulation's Freak! FireBone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    104
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Unhappy

    hm...yoshi works at the start good but in the game a only this:
    AMD Athlon 2100mhz
    Gerforce 4 TI 4200
    512 DDR
    80GB IBM
    Sound On Board

  7. #7
    roll for life sk8bloke22's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    i dont live anywhere, im homeless
    Posts
    1,448
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    ok theres a really weird bug this is causing with 1964. basically some games, like kirby64 and killer instinct gold (both (U)) [!] ) freeze the emu with a blank screen. not quite sure wats going on there. n e way congrats on the release.
    WinXP Professional 5.1 (Build #2600) CPU: AMD K7 Athlon XP, 1.67 GHz Video: Samsung SAMTRON 95P Plus(T)/95P on nVidia GeForce4 Ti 4200 (1280x1024x32bpp 60Hz) Sound: SB Audigy Audio [E800] Memory: Used: 156/512MB Uptime: 1h 46m 2s 81ms HD: Free: [C:] 27.93/38.16 GB Connection: 1-World Online via U.S. Robotics 56K FAX EXT @ 45200 bps (Rec: 8.14MB Sent: 0.81MB)

  8. #8
    EmuTalk Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    34
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Nice work,Rice. and I hope that in the next releases of your plugin you will correct the 2D bug of evangelion64 and resident evil2... please!

  9. #9
    EmuTalk Member Thubb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    16
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Fullscreen doesnīt work

    Yes, i canīt get fullscreen to work with the plugin...

    neither alt+enter or manually by clicking "fullscreen" in the menubar...

    any hints ?

    Thubb

  10. #10
    Joe Silvera lasly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    near My Mum
    Posts
    84
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    It's Fu****G Great Thx..;

    Good Idea to release WIP , even if it's not complete It's allow us to test all ur progress !
    VEry nice rice ! Congratulations, we are waiting for the next release !

Page 1 of 10 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •