What's new

1964 through Winex and linux

russofris

Good afternoon,

I am currently running .85 on a linux box with winex. So far this has been the best way to play my N64 games under linux. The graphics are great, the game compatability is the same under windows, and I have my adaptoid (erm, radioshack cheapie) working with my controller.

Currently, my problem is audio. It crackels.

The two audio plugins that work are Azimer's v.3 and .4beta2. v.5 does not work at all and simply generates noise. No other plugins seem to work.

My questions are:

Are you currently testing with linux?
Would you guys like a Linux/Winex tester (I'm a professional software tester)?
Are there any suggestions that you can offer to get my audio working better? (I have tried all of the Az plugin options).

My specs are as follows:

Gentoo Linux
XP1700+ on A7V333
Winex 3.2
Nvidia 4496 drivers
CMedia 8738 (onboard) running ALSA .98 drivers (With OSS emulation)
2.4.22 kernel compiles with GCC 3.3.2
Running games at 1600x1200@85 hz

Idle time CPU timeslice is at 50%-65% when running Zelda and SMB64 (not a CPU limitation)

Thank you for your time,
Frank Russo

C

catewauler

Winex and 1964...

Catewauler online:

I´m like you a linux user, and I found the same problem, winex doesn´t match with onboard audio cards, because emulation makes it sloooowww and that´s because you hear noise.

What you can do is to get a new audio card (linux compatible), or using another windows emu on linux (winlinux 2000) that make it better.

Another option is to get a good driver from the web... but I think this is a little difficult to get.

Ok I hope I did help you.

OP
R

russofris

catewauler said:
Catewauler online:
I´m like you a linux user, and I found the same problem, winex doesn´t match with onboard audio cards, because emulation makes it sloooowww and that´s because you hear noise.