PDA

View Full Version : NeoGeo Emulation Help Needed Plz



EdgeBlade
February 26th, 2002, 02:45
Is there a NeoGeo emulator that should work on XP? I think NeoRage is suppost to, but it crashes on launch for me, any ideas?

Slougi
February 26th, 2002, 03:36
there's a hacked version of neoragex that works on xp, but i'm not sure where to get it. Just look around :)

blizz
February 26th, 2002, 04:13
or just use MAME32 or winkawaks

EdgeBlade
February 26th, 2002, 04:18
Would you consider MAME better that NeoRAGE?

EdgeBlade
February 26th, 2002, 04:21
I found it @ http://www.zophar.net/neo-geo.html

blizz
February 26th, 2002, 04:27
I prefer Winkawaks and MAME, since they can both do fullscreen anyway, and it's just easier to work with, the emulation from MAME is more accurate and does the more modern NeoGeo games like KOF2000 and metal slug 3

EdgeBlade
February 26th, 2002, 11:05
Is there a good place to go to learn about NeoGeo ROM naming conventions and such, similar to Smiff's site for N64?

DuDe
February 26th, 2002, 16:16
If you want to convert roms, use clrmame.
Now, about emu`s, I would go with Nebula, if it works on XP, or Kawaks, they are both good, and have neat blitters. I prefer them both over MAME, because they removed the whole shadow flickering bug in NG emulation.

EdgeBlade
February 26th, 2002, 20:57
Alright, I'll do a search and find 'em both to check them out later, once I'm done with school for the day. Untill than, any links?

Reznor007
February 28th, 2002, 09:46
Originally posted by Oleg Zaks
If you want to convert roms, use clrmame.
Now, about emu`s, I would go with Nebula, if it works on XP, or Kawaks, they are both good, and have neat blitters. I prefer them both over MAME, because they removed the whole shadow flickering bug in NG emulation.

The shadow flickering is not a bug. That's what the actual hardware did. Since the NeoGeo could not do transparencies, they flickered a shadow since on an interlaced display it would look almost like an alpha blended shadow. MAME is the most accurate NeoGeo emulator.

Reznor007
February 28th, 2002, 09:51
Originally posted by EdgeBlade
Is there a good place to go to learn about NeoGeo ROM naming conventions and such, similar to Smiff's site for N64?

MAME is the authority for arcade ROM naming :) Basically just use CLRMAMEPro http://www.mameworld.net/clrmame/ and MAME .58 and it will name and sort your NeoGeo ROMs to be the right name/CRC etc.

DuDe
February 28th, 2002, 20:50
Originally posted by Reznor007


The shadow flickering is not a bug. That's what the actual hardware did. Since the NeoGeo could not do transparencies, they flickered a shadow since on an interlaced display it would look almost like an alpha blended shadow. MAME is the most accurate NeoGeo emulator.
Blah, who cares if it was a hardware thing, it looked ***.
And there is no way that MAME is more accurate than Nebula, they support the same number of games, only Nebula looks and sounds so much better.

Martin
March 1st, 2002, 01:03
Moving to other Next-Gen Emulation...

blizz
March 1st, 2002, 02:07
Originally posted by Administrator
Moving to other Next-Gen Emulation...

yay! ;)


Originally posted by Oleg Zaks

Blah, who cares if it was a hardware thing, it looked ***.
And there is no way that MAME is more accurate than Nebula, they support the same number of games, only Nebula looks and sounds so much better.

LOL, "it looked ***" LOL, MAME is probably the most accurate emulator at the moment, and probably will be for the time being, and for ease of use there's winkawaks, the only thing I like about Nebula is the transparancies, which is a nice little toy.

pj64er
March 1st, 2002, 03:49
Originally posted by Administrator
Moving to other Next-Gen Emulation...

so is arcade considered next-gen now?

DuDe
March 1st, 2002, 03:59
Originally posted by blizz


LOL, "it looked ***" LOL, MAME is probably the most accurate emulator at the moment, and probably will be for the time being, and for ease of use there's winkawaks, the only thing I like about Nebula is the transparancies, which is a nice little toy.
FFS, how the hell is MAME more friggin accurate than Nebula? I played the games I have as roms on the arcades, and I`ve seen no difference between MAME and Nebula. I actually prefer Nebula for the sound and the picture quality.
I use MAME only for pre 90`s stuff, like ghouls and goblins, and crap like that.

EdgeBlade
March 1st, 2002, 04:17
Moved?? NeoGeo in a Next-Gen Emulatior?

blizz
March 1st, 2002, 05:46
Originally posted by Oleg Zaks

FFS, how the hell is MAME more friggin accurate than Nebula? I played the games I have as roms on the arcades, and I`ve seen no difference between MAME and Nebula. I actually prefer Nebula for the sound and the picture quality.
I use MAME only for pre 90`s stuff, like ghouls and goblins, and crap like that.

the whole purpose of MAME is to provide as accurate emulation of an arcade system as possible hence the shadow flickering


Originally posted by EdgeBlade
Moved?? NeoGeo in a Next-Gen Emulatior?

no this has just become a general emulation forum, and this thread didn't belong in Talk of the Town.

Reznor007
March 1st, 2002, 08:56
Originally posted by Oleg Zaks

Blah, who cares if it was a hardware thing, it looked ***.
And there is no way that MAME is more accurate than Nebula, they support the same number of games, only Nebula looks and sounds so much better.

Did you know that much of Nebula's core emulation is taken from MAME source code? Both Nebula and Kawaks use the MAME CPU cores and audio code. The only difference is the raster effect emulation(MAME has the best), audio interpolation(MAME doesn't support since it is about accuracy), and graphic filters(not in official MAME for accuracy reasons, but unofficial builds support it). And umm...MAME supports over 3,200 games, Nebula around 200-300.

EdgeBlade
March 1st, 2002, 12:12
What is a good frontend for MAME, I tried one but it didn't work.

DuDe
March 1st, 2002, 14:57
Originally posted by Reznor007


And umm...MAME supports over 3,200 games, Nebula around 200-300.

DUH?! MAME = supports many arcade systems. Nebula = supports CPS2, CPS1 and Neo-Geo. Conclusion = Nebula supports less games, because it supports less systems. I was talking about NG games, should`ve made that clear.

Now, about flickering : don`t know if you ever played an NG game at an arcade, but you don`t see the flickering at the arcade machine, because it flickers too fast. Same thing about CPS2 games as well. Now, NG emu`s weren`t able to simulate the fast flickering effect, and that`s why SEEING flickering in NG emus IS a bug. That`s why MHZ and Elsemi each did some kind of a frame blend blitter to work around it.

Reznor007
March 1st, 2002, 15:14
Originally posted by Oleg Zaks
Now, about flickering : don`t know if you ever played an NG game at an arcade, but you don`t see the flickering at the arcade machine, because it flickers too fast. Same thing about CPS2 games as well. Now, NG emu`s weren`t able to simulate the fast flickering effect, and that`s why SEEING flickering in NG emus IS a bug. That`s why MHZ and Elsemi each did some kind of a frame blend blitter to work around it.

No, I work part time(secondary job) at an arcade that has Metal Slug 1 and Samurai Shodown, you can still see the flickering. Why would an emulator have a problem displaying the flickering shadow? It's just a black sprite that is only shown every other frame. MAME is 100% accurate in how it draws the shadow. The problem is that you are displaying the game on a non-interlaced display. The game was designed for an interlaced arcade monitor. It hides the effect fairly well, and looks almost like a true alpha blended shadow(you can still easily tell it's not though). If you use MAME on a real arcade monitor or TV, it will look exactly like the original. MHz and Elsemi's effects try to simulate that effect, but actually go over and beyond what a real arcade monitor would do. They truly blend the sprite, which is something NeoGeo can't do.

DuDe_
March 1st, 2002, 15:16
I`ve never seen flickering... That is, never seen it in Garou and SS4.

DuDe_
March 1st, 2002, 15:19
Originally posted by Reznor007


. The problem is that you are displaying the game on a non-interlaced display. The game was designed for an interlaced arcade monitor. It hides the effect fairly well, and looks almost like a true alpha blended shadow(you can still easily tell it's not though). If you use MAME on a real arcade monitor or TV, it will look exactly like the original.

You got a point dude, my mistake...
But anyway, I still prefer Nebula over MAME. I didn`t like MAME since I first used it on my old ghetto pc, and I don`t use it for NG purposes since. Prejudice as some might say.

B*A*G*G
March 2nd, 2002, 06:15
Originally posted by EdgeBlade
What is a good frontend for MAME, I tried one but it didn't work.
dont use a frontend, download The ****ing Rabbit's version of mame32 (222). you can download it at The ****ing Rabbit's homwpage or at
http://www.kaillera.com
its the best mame trust me. it also lets you overclock every game, so neogeo games like mslug & mslug2 wont ever slow down. pretty nifty

B*A*G*G
March 2nd, 2002, 06:26
i do preffer Nebula for my cps1-2, & neogeo because it eats up less cpu% than mame when using system memery. tho i really dont dig the transparencies anymore (got tired of 'em), i think all the blitters nebula offers are real nice (tho i dont use them offten) . i get best results by just stretching the grafices max and using system memery (so it dont look blurry).

pj64er
March 2nd, 2002, 06:26
Originally posted by B*A*G*G
its the best mame trust me. it also lets you overclock every game, so neogeo games like mslug & mslug2 wont ever slow down. pretty nifty

not overclock(ya hardware fr33k), frameskip. frameskip is available in many versions of mame. but i still agree with BAGG, MAME32k is great.


/me finally realizes this forum's title changed to "Other Emulation Discussion"

Reznor007
March 2nd, 2002, 10:15
Originally posted by pj64er


not overclock(ya hardware fr33k), frameskip. frameskip is available in many versions of mame. but i still agree with BAGG, MAME32k is great.


/me finally realizes this forum's title changed to "Other Emulation Discussion"

Actually it is overclock. He means setting the NeoGeo's CPU's to run at 2x speed, which stops the slow down in the game that happen on the real hardware.

B*A*G*G
March 2nd, 2002, 10:28
yes, if you want to overclock ANY game on mame32k just press ~ while playing to bring up the volume menu and hit up a couple times till the "overclock" setting comes up. you can overclock any game in real time "right before your eyes" !!!

if you ever play games like DoDonPachi or GunForce 2 you can acully notice less slowdown as you overclock it more. or you can even underclock the game till it comes to a hault.
some emulators like Nebula v1.95 (couldnt get it to work with Nebula 2.0) you can overclock NeoGeo games up to 2x but not cps2 games like you can with mame32k (but cps2 games really dont need overclocking, only a few do).

B*A*G*G
March 2nd, 2002, 10:30
Originally posted by pj64er


not overclock(ya hardware fr33k), frameskip. frameskip is available in many versions of mame. but i still agree with BAGG, MAME32k is great.


/me finally realizes this forum's title changed to "Other Emulation Discussion"
i never use frameskipping. i rather it run slow than skip frames