What's new

A new guy wondering how long it takes

Toasty

Sony battery
Hey, I want to get into writing emulators and am just trying to get a good guess at what kind of time investment it will take before I start seeing any results. Let me start out saying that I've been programming for a few years now and have some experience with C/C++ and a little with x86 assembly, and I understand the basic principles behind emulation (read instructions from a foreign executable and execute the natively typically by means of interpretation, dynamic or static recompilation).

I realize I have to start small, so I think the first logical step is probably something simple (well, less complicated) like the NES. Eventually, though, I'd like to write emulators for (running on) consoles - perhaps even the N64 emulator for PS2 that so many people say is impossible. If there's anyone reading this thread who's written an emulator, I'd be very grateful to hear how much you've done in emulation and how long it took you to get that far. Thanks in advance for your insights!

BGNG

The absolute most difficult part of writing any emulator for a videogaming system is to obtain proper documentation on the usage of the processor and the internal workings of the given devices.

The best way to find out how certain interfaces of a device function is to write programs yourself and see how the device handles them.

If you understand the principle of Assembly (which is NOT difficult to understand. I learned it all in one day) and have control over your personal ability to program, writing emulators is anything BUT difficult.

The NES is indeed very low-level and simplistic, but programming for it requires some kinda magic touch that I never quite achieved. It is an utter pain in the neck unless you understand it real well, and I ran away from it crying. Probably the easiest console to program (that I have sufficient documentation for) would be the Game Boy Advance.