What's new

Speed Problem specifically with Dolphin 1.02

djnforce9

Hi, I have a simple question. Please read on, this isn't a nag or question whether Dolphin will have full FPS or anything.

I'm very new to gamecube emulators and the first one I tried was dolphin 1.02

I read here and on the homepage that Puzzle bobble is the only game to have playable framerates. However when I booted it up in Dolphin, I only got as much as 4. I figured that maybe it was my PC (perhaps 1.2GHz wasn't enough), but then I got some odd inclination to try a DIFFERENT emulator. So I ran Puzzle Bobble 3000 through Gcube and Behold! I get between 30-60 FPS. Hence, I concluded that something can't be right. If my PC was too slow, I wouldn't get good speeds on one emu and not another. However, I didn't end it at that. I figured maybe it's just something with Dolphin version 1.02 so I downloaded the 1.0 Final Release and booted up Puzzle Bobble 3000. Guess what? I get the expected 30 FPS.

By, now you can probably figure out my question. What happened between 1.00 and 1.02 to suddenly cause the framerate to drop from 30FPS to 4 or is it just that my PC isn't compatible anymore with the newest version. Either way, it makes little sense to me. Can someone explain?

Thanks.

Quvack

Have you got 'Dynarec' enabled in the Emulation menu? if not your just using the Interpreter which would explain why its so slow, it wasnt enabled by default in version 1.02 if i rememeber correctly.

nicknack

He's right you know. I just accidentally discovered the much acclaimed 'Dynarec' function, sadly it only improved the start menu and loading times FPS. There was also a marked improvement of +1FPS during gameplay. :p