What's new

Ogre Battle 64 graphical problems

Zalger248

Hello. I'm new to using Progect 64, and to emulators in general, and while being able to play games from my youth is great, there are some problems I am having that are getting on my nerves. I'll go specifically into Ogre Battle 64 for this.

In some scenes, and in many battles, the background is completely black, or black with one or more graphical 'glitch lines'. I have tried using many options to try to fix this, but to no avail. And yes, I have read the help FAQs and noticed that the black background during battle cannot be fixed to anyone's knowledge.

I have also come across the odd, uncommon case of stuck sprites during battle scenes. This doesn't happen often, but causes sprites from a previous battle to appear during other battles and even during dialogue scenes.

And finally, I have tinkered with the cheats a little, and noticed that the game will freeze at certain points. I'm uncertain if this is because of the cheats or if the game itself freezes. As a sidenote, the audio keeps playing normally.

Any help with these issues would be greatly appreciated, please.

Agozer

16-bit Corpse | Moderator
Well known issues. Had you read the GameFAQ bundled with Project64 or glansed at the Notes column in the ROM Browser, you would have known as well before creating this topic.

Use another graphics plugin, preferably Glide64 (if your graphics hardware can handle it), but don't expect it to make things perfect.

OP
Z

Zalger248

Thank you for your suggestion. As for the first part of your response, allow me to say that I had looked through the GameFAQ and seen the black background issue. I had merely assumed the stuck sprites and freezing were different issues altogether.

Agozer

As for the first part of your response, allow me to say that I had looked through the GameFAQ and seen the black background issue. I had merely assumed the stuck sprites and freezing were different issues altogether.