What's new

Manually ripping/reinstering textures in a Playstation game.

sb iq

Hello. I am a newbie to the game hacking scene and I would like to know how to rip/reinsert textures in a Playstation game manually using a hex editor. The reason is there are some games out there that do not use the TIM format for textures, so those TIM rippers/reinserters are pretty much useless on those games.

I have looked for comprehensive beginner's guides for this sort of thing but cannot find any. If anyone can link me to a good text or even explain it to me it would be greatly appreciated.

But before you tell me a lot of complicated hax0r terms, keep in mind the most l33t thing I have ever done is pass first semester C++ at a university with a B-. They didn't teach us anything about hex editors or hacking ROMs. -_-

I really would like to learn though, so please excuse me if I ask questions that seem stupid, like what a byte is. Yes, I know the definition is "8 binary digits" but what does that mean in practicality when I am using a hex editor? Is a byte a line of code, etc.? I really don't know.

zAlbee

Keeper of The Iron Tail
A byte is 8 bits. A bit is 1 or 0. The smallest byte is therefore 00000000 (zero) and the largest is 11111111 (255). You can think of a byte as a number from 0 to 255. One character is represented with one byte. This means 256 different characters are available - if more are needed, different character encodings can be used, so the same byte can have several different character meanings depending on the encoding.

An unsigned short int uses 2 bytes (16-bit), which means 65536 integer values are possible (0 - 65535). A signed short int uses half of those numbers for negatives (-32768 -to +32767).

An unsigned int is 4 bytes (32-bit), so has 4,294,967,296 possible values. Again, signed means half are negatives.

long int is 64-bit
float is 32-bit