What's new

Kirby 64 - The Crystal Shards controls?

WheelsiesPwns

So, I guess you could say that I'm new to Project 64, but I'm figuring it out. I downloaded a program that allows you to download Windows programs on a Mac (my computer's a Macbook Pro) and then downloaded P64. Now, I've tried basically everything in order to make the controls on my keyboard work for Kirby 64, as only the A button seems to be working. I've gone to "Configure Controller Plugin...", but I can't seem to change any of the preset buttons, because a message saying "Sorry the input selection made is already in use" keeps popping up, without my having even chosen a button to replace the previous one.

Anyway, it's not the actual rom that seems to be the problem, only the buttons... I can't seem to find the buttons that would normally be the arrow keys, and for that reason, I can't get past the tutorial... Any advice?

Agozer

16-bit Corpse | Moderator
Birby uses the N64 D-pad for control instead of the usual analog stick. By default, Project64's keyboard controls maps the analog stick to the arrow keys, and the D-pad to the numpad, IIRC.

You are using the default input plugin, right?

Having said all this, and after reading your post again, there always a chance that running programs designed for Windows on a Mac while not using a Windows OS on a Mac, can cause problems. I'm not the expert on Macs, so someone else is free to chip in.

P.S. I'm sure you meant "running Windows programs on a Mac".

Last edited:

super_gamer

Usually when the message "Sorry the input selection made is already in use" pops up, the key that you are trying to change is being used by another control.

Lets say that the digital pad has the letter T indicating left, if you wish to change that to L key, that L key is more than likely being designated to the analog stick, so you'll need to use another letter random like U, so you then can change the T to the L Key.