What's new

Flashed my BIOS, now 1964 crashes

tdg

I had 1964 running perfectly. I've got a simple Dell laptop (inspiron e1405) centrino duo, 1.6ghz, 1gb ram... Zelda OOT, SM64, and Smash Brothers are the games I play the most, and with the hires textures. Now, after flashing my BIOS last night because "i needed to update it" I cannot have hires textures. It crashes 1964 every time.
I can still use Rice Video 6.1.1 beta10 if I want, but I cannot have load hires textures or it will crash. Sometimes it loads the game, but with severe graphics glitches, and then it will either terminate the program on its own, or sometimes various error messages occur.

Quick recap:
-This ONLY happened after I upgraded my BIOS. Everything was fine before then.
-This is only with hires textures (I can play the games without them just fine)
-This is not an issue with me not knowing how to set it up - I am no tech expert, but I can follow directions, and I had 1964 running just dandy, with hires textures, no problems. This silly BIOS update somehow screwed it up. I havn't messed with anything else on my computer.

Any advice? This is a bummer, I really loved these games in hi-res!
(I applaud all you hires artists)

Iconoclast

You probably have an ATI Radeon card. Try using Rice's Video Plugin on Project64.

Edit: Also, the N64 has no BIOS. Did you think 1964 was an Xbox (etc.) emulator or something?

flow``

flow``
I highly doubt the bios is to blame for hi res textures crashing 1964. You might want to try:

Updating DirectX (http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/...38-DB71-4C1B-BC6A-9B6652CD92A3&displaylang=en) (Feb Runtime update)

Updating your integrated intel 945GM drivers (http://downloadfinder.intel.com/scr...XP+Professional&lang=eng&strOSs=44&submit=Go!)

or.. the simplest thing to do to attempt to fix the problem, would be to uninstall/reinstall and configure 1964. I'd try this first, then shoot for the other two options.