What's new

Bra64 news

tooie

Plisco said:
Ignore that Ashade you do what you want keep up the good work. Cant wait for a release;)

Plisco read the whole message .. it is saying a waste of time programming in asm .. this is pure a productivity thing. The benifits are being claimed are basicly nill. But the programming overhead is massive. it had nothing to do with Ashade plugin.

sketzh

tooie said:
Plisco read the whole message .. it is saying a waste of time programming in asm .. this is pure a productivity thing. The benifits are being claimed are basicly nill. But the programming overhead is massive. it had nothing to do with Ashade plugin.

exactly my point.

actually I knew some guys who did an entire game for windows a couple of ago in pure asm. they knew their stuff and it took up A LOT of time. The game was nize and everything but it was almost outdated when it was released. I am not saying that I have no respect for asm-programmers because I do. I started coding my very first program in asm too so I know its a hard work and can be fast.

BTW: Some guys did some bilinear radial blur algorithm a year back. One did it in assembler and one did it in C++ with some inline asm. The C++ version was the fastest one.. All the innerloops was made in asm, the ones that cache well. And these guys are VERY skilled at programming. I am just mentioning this because its not a fact that asm is faster..

I respect your work Ashade, dont stop your plugin, this is only my opinion and what I would do. Anybody just making a little effort in being creative and productive are to be rewarded so go on mate! :)

Last edited:

Cyberman

ashade said:
yeah, unroll loops i can, but look at this example:

to divide a number in c++ by a constant, you have to do it:

//consider x is a 16bit number
x /= 10; //using 10 for example