Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    EmuTalk Member ExtremeDude2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    302
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Flash a 5830 to a 5870

    Anyone think that it is possible?
    "The question isn't can it be done, but are you willing to do it." - Me

    Check out my vids!
    _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _
    Drug Free For Life: 98% of the teenage population has
    tried drugs at least once. If you are one of the 2%
    who hasn't, copy and paste this into your signature.
    _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

  2. #2
    Texture pack invader NES_player4LIFE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    1,478
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    what are you talking about???
    -NES
    We are in the process of archiving all qualifying texture packs!
    Contact me via PM to have your N64 texture pack hosted on Emulation64.com!
    Having a hard time loading Large packs? Be sure to patch your emulator.
    Can't load .DAT files? Look no further then this shiny Tutorial.
      Spoiler:

  3. #3
    EmuTalk Member ExtremeDude2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    302
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by NES_player4LIFE View Post
    what are you talking about???
    Does anyone think it is possible to install a 5870 BIOS on a 5830 (since they are the same chip, just that the 5830 has some transistors disabled) so that the 5830 would be "tricked" into thinking it is a 5870.
    "The question isn't can it be done, but are you willing to do it." - Me

    Check out my vids!
    _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _
    Drug Free For Life: 98% of the teenage population has
    tried drugs at least once. If you are one of the 2%
    who hasn't, copy and paste this into your signature.
    _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

  4. #4
    Moderator smcd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    2,533
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    You may be able to but often times lesser hardware is high end model that may have had some bad areas and didn't pass QA so the bad areas were cut off/disabled and it gets rebranded as the lower model... This keeps prices lower and yields higher --- so if you do flash it successfully, the magically enabled hardware might not function or function incorrectly. Proceed at your own risk, not to mention you will likely have to hack/disable the checksum and or hardware detection for the flash utility to be able to load it in the first place

  5. #5
    EmuTalk Member ExtremeDude2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    302
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Yeah I am probably not going to do it.
    "The question isn't can it be done, but are you willing to do it." - Me

    Check out my vids!
    _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _
    Drug Free For Life: 98% of the teenage population has
    tried drugs at least once. If you are one of the 2%
    who hasn't, copy and paste this into your signature.
    _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

  6. #6
    Moderator Clements's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    5,492
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    If there are no reports on the web with good evidence of a successful flash with a particular brand or model number of card, then chances are, it can't be done. Most likely due to laser cutting of shaders etc. That's not to say you can't overclock the card and get more performance that way.



    • Advertising

      advertising
      EmuTalk.net
      has no influence
      on the ads that
      are displayed
        
       

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •