It is possible to bypass Websense blocking? If yes? How?
It is possible to bypass Websense blocking? If yes? How?
"Sometimes the truth is stranger than fiction"
OMG!!! WebSense... I remember that, back in good ol' 2002, the year I finally graduated at Crotched Mountain!!! (http://www.crotchedmountain.org)
Crotched Mountain, starting in 2002 and thus likely still does, has WebSense installed on the LAN, but had NEVER blocked Emutalk.net, if that's what your bitching about.
................But I did find out that the domain name, divas.com is being scapegoated, WebSense was arbitrarily blocking divas.com!!! Divas.com was being arbitrarily blocked under the category, Sex. Despite being blocked under the category, Sex, divas.com don't have any pr0n and I didn't even recall seeing
divas!!!
http://divas.com
Update:
Divas.com appears to now be owned by someone else now, who just wants to set up some silly search engine page.
Last edited by RJARRRPCGP; July 26th, 2004 at 07:33.
"Sorry about that, old chap." -Conker
Asus P5QL Pro
Core 2 Duo E4500 OC'ed to 2.997 Ghz (333x9.0)
2 GB Samsung DDR2 PC2 5300 dual channel SDRAM (1 GB x2)
GeForce 9500 GT
------------------------------------------
-Gentoo 2010 system:
Acer Aspire M5630
Core 2 Duo E2180
1 GB Kingston PC2 6400 dual channel DDR2 SDRAM (512 MB x 2)
Yeah I know, thanks to God it doesn't block ET, but is weird because it blocks Emulation64. Your example of the Divas site... It is sad![]()
"Sometimes the truth is stranger than fiction"
Well, the one you posted is different, because number one, divas.com is under the category, Entertainment and Crotched Mountain has a customized WebSense web site block notice page, including with the Crotched Mountain logo and thus the wording is also different.
Also, AFAIK, divas.com was being blocked under the category, Sex!
Here's what divas.com looks like:
"Sorry about that, old chap." -Conker
Asus P5QL Pro
Core 2 Duo E4500 OC'ed to 2.997 Ghz (333x9.0)
2 GB Samsung DDR2 PC2 5300 dual channel SDRAM (1 GB x2)
GeForce 9500 GT
------------------------------------------
-Gentoo 2010 system:
Acer Aspire M5630
Core 2 Duo E2180
1 GB Kingston PC2 6400 dual channel DDR2 SDRAM (512 MB x 2)
I've never seen websense actually running anywhere, but a good way to circumvent this type of software (if its on the server, possibly not if its on the local machine and filters by words) is to get a proxy (real or web based). For example, www.pureprivacy.com (when its up) or, for something less likely blocked, babelfish.altavista.com . Hope this helps.
WebSense is LAN installation based!!! No way to get around it, unless you h4x0r the LAN.
"Sorry about that, old chap." -Conker
Asus P5QL Pro
Core 2 Duo E4500 OC'ed to 2.997 Ghz (333x9.0)
2 GB Samsung DDR2 PC2 5300 dual channel SDRAM (1 GB x2)
GeForce 9500 GT
------------------------------------------
-Gentoo 2010 system:
Acer Aspire M5630
Core 2 Duo E2180
1 GB Kingston PC2 6400 dual channel DDR2 SDRAM (512 MB x 2)
It really can't be bypassed?
"Sometimes the truth is stranger than fiction"
My HS has WebSense, instead of doing work, myself and my friendOriginally Posted by t0rek
would use a copy of CGIProxy to get around it, unfortunately the
one we used is down now and I've been unable to find another...
WebSense has been known to falsely block some web sites.
For more information, if possible, please check out the web site, http://peacefire.org .
Warning, there's a high likelyhood that WebSense will block peacefire.org.
I saw peacefire.org being blocked before by other internet content filtering software.
"Sorry about that, old chap." -Conker
Asus P5QL Pro
Core 2 Duo E4500 OC'ed to 2.997 Ghz (333x9.0)
2 GB Samsung DDR2 PC2 5300 dual channel SDRAM (1 GB x2)
GeForce 9500 GT
------------------------------------------
-Gentoo 2010 system:
Acer Aspire M5630
Core 2 Duo E2180
1 GB Kingston PC2 6400 dual channel DDR2 SDRAM (512 MB x 2)
http://tilogy-group.tk is a good place to find info. Websense is a very holy system, you should all have ways past it. A php proxy similar to cgi-proxy is up at http://proxy2005.tk . Rumors tell me that they are working on a cgi proxy at some other URL. I'll post it when I find out.