What's new

NRage V2.1 rumble fix

Gonetz

Plugin Developer (GlideN64)
I'm using GameCube controller attached via an USB adapter with N64 emulators. It's very convenient controller for N64 games btw. Until now I used Nrage v.1.82. It works ok, but rumble does not work at all. I tried latest 2.1, but with no luck: rumble does not work too, and besides C buttons assigned to the C stick on the gamepad do not work. So, 1.82 was my only choice. But I want rumble support! Since Nrage development seems to be stopped, there was no hope that somebody would help me. Thus, I decided to help myself and downloaded sources from the repository. I have no experience with DirectInput and I did not dig the sources very deeply. My only goal was to find what causes the problems and to fix them somehow. I did it. Attached is the result, which satisfies me. The archive includes release binaries and sources changes. I'm not sure that the changes made are correct, but it works for me.

The list of fixed issues:
1. Rumble does not work at all.
2. Rumble does not work after savestate load.
3. Rumble does not work if plugged by shortcut (‘-‘ by default)
4. 'C' buttons assigned to 'C' stick do not work at all
5. Crash if gamepad is unplugged.
6. Rumble effect does not stop in some cases.

Download:
http://glide64.emuxhaven.net/files/nrage_fix.rar

Last edited:

squall_leonhart

The Great Gunblade Wielder
I'm not sure what you did here, because rumble works perfectly across all my rumble capable directinput controls.

As for gamecube controls though, the adapter drivers usually do not contain a force feedback driver, so the only way is via raw :\.

As for the C buttons, i've also had no problems assigning them either, driver level bugs should not be corrected in apps, they should be reported to the product support team so they can be fixed.

So to address

The list of fixed issues:
1. Rumble does not work at all. ( This was never broken )