What's new

some newbie questions

catastrophe

hey everyone,

i'm new to the world of n64 emulation and i was fortunate enough to stumble upon this forum. i was hoping that someone would be kind enough to answer a few questions i have so that i can better understand how everything works =]

first i'll give you a little background on my situation; i've recently flown the nest, sort of speak, but left my beloved n64 and games at my parents [over 500 miles away]. after wasting a few hours watching speed runs on youtube, my need for n64 action kicked in and i just had to play them for myself. so i downloaded project 64 along with a copy of blast corps hoping to regress to my youth.

however, i found that the graphics for the world map to be off and wondered if it was the rom or my computer that was the cause, so i googled it and wound up here. i spent a few more hours reading away on here and wikipedia in hope to understand this cool medium more, but i still have a few questions that are puzzling me...

1] how exactly does somebody make a rom image of an n64 game?
from what i can gather they are pretty much just copying the code straight out, which means in theory that the rom is exactly the same as original game. it is then the emulators job to best simulate an n64 to make it appear as intended. so am i right to assume that its just the emulators that aren't exact in producing an accurate copy, or is it a problem with the roms, or maybe both? this leads me into my next question

2] if the technology improves, will the rom version of, for example, body harvest now work properly... or would i have to download a new version of that rom?
well i have read that this game currently doesn't work properly (the character only moves one way, or something) so i never bothered to download it. however were i to download it now, would that same rom work if someone was to create a compatible plug-in for the game?

3] why do people keep bad rom files in a game's zip folder?