What's new

Monitor ghosting?

A.I.

Banned
I have a 17 inch Viewmaster crt monitor and i am getting ghosting. How do I get rid of it? I have tried the monitor's settings but i cant find the config to sharpen the image. Where is it?

Is it somewhere in the Nvidia control panel?

Last edited:

Eagle

aka Alshain
Monitor ghosting is the result of your monitor's response time being slower than the frames per second (actually in this case, frames per millisecond) on the application you are running. How to fix it you ask? Buy a new monitor. Sorry but thats the only solution, your problem is strictly hardware and no software can solve it.

However, what you are experiencing is not ghosting, the reason I say this is because CRT monitors don't ghost... ever. Ghosting is a symptom only affecting LCD monitors due to their "capacitor" design. I don't know what you think you are seeing but it isn't ghosting.

Last edited:
OP
A.I.

A.I.

Banned
Actually, it's not ghosting but magnetic lines which comes and goes which is really annoying. I think its from speaker wire which dangles behind my monitor and is touching it so I moved it and taped it to the wall. Its about 20 cm from the monitor now but at least its not touching it. The thing is I'm still getting this magnetic line in the middle of the screen which fluxiates and I also get magnetic ghosting from my curser and basically everything.

When I first turn on my monitor while I eat breakfast it's not so promient but after a few hours it gets worse. Howver today it hasn't been so badly behaved so I'm hoping it has learnt its lesson and that it is slowly dissappearing from sight. The monitor must have a good memory cos the line is still appearing but hopefuly it is getting forgetful and the line will leave and go to Antartica or some place cold....

smcd

Try degaussing the monitor and checking that your speakers etc are magnetically shielded? click here if not and you don't mind doing some work / are on the cheap.

OP
A.I.