What's new

What do you guys think of StrmnNrmn's efforts?

Allnatural

If you haven't already seen the news at Emulation64, check out the Daedalus homepage.

LLE graphics.:colgate: Sounds interesting, even if my system isn't up to the task. Good luck StrmnNrmn.:)

Remote

Slougi said:
Hmm what does this mean in practice? All gfx effects etc. would be emulated?

Perhaps someone with insight could give us a brief overview of pros and cons with the LLE approach.

pj64er

PJ64 Lubba
Remote said:

Perhaps someone with insight could give us a brief overview of pros and cons with the LLE approach.

im no expert, but LLE should get u (or try to) exactly what u would see on the n64. So bells and whistles (higher res, FSAA, texture filtering) would be sacrificed for (near perfect to perfect)accuracy.

OP
Allnatural

Allnatural

Remote said:

Here is something Lewpy posted over at NGemu when someone brought up the subject of HLE and PSX emulation:
Okay, let's try and clear this up

HLE - High Level Emulation

A technique used to emulate a system, or part of a system, by simulating the software API calls that the program makes.

LLE - Low Level Emulation

A technique used to emulate a system, or part of a system, by simulating the hardware registers that a program accesses.

What HLE does is it scans a program and "hooks" the standard API calls that a program is using (because it is designed using a standard development library, so the API calls are standard across many games). By doing this, it doesn't actually have to fully emulate the hardware in the system, and also has access to the program data before it gets mangled by any actually hardware device in the system.

LLE emulates the system at a register level, so is almost exactly the same as the system being emulated. This also means it suffers from any limitations of the system being emulated. In the case of the PSX, this means it has non-perspective correct texturing, no zbuffering, 3D engine glitches, etc.