What's new

Net play, anyone want to do it?

Rice

Emulator Developer
Does any one would like to join the project, to make a common net play plugin, which will be share among the most of the emulators?

I don't think Kaillera is the right direction to go, it is probably a place to meet someone to play game on the net, but not likely a way to achieve better speed to make N64 game net play available to most of the players who are still using dial up access.

I do have some good ideas but lack of time, need some partners, who would like to practise TCP, UDP, winsock, multi-thread Client/Server programming in C/C++. !964 could be the first emulators to integrate, but it should not be hard to integrate into other ones.

I hope the final one could make netplay at virtually full speed, even via dial up network.

bjz

Well I am actually getting cable on friday, but i will still help you. I am byfar no expert, espescially when it comes to n64, but i have some winsock experience with C.

Mail me [email protected] or get on irc when i am on. I know u get on cuzz i have talked to u a few times :D.

zilmar

Emulator Developer
something that I had always planned to do for pj64 .. just never did have the motivation/time .. now I quit never will .. but I was doing all that network programming for my job .. oh well .. I am sure some one can add it in to pj64 latter ..

Hacktarux

Emulator Developer
I am eventually interested by doing this. Maybe i don't have all the necessary knowledge (I have never made such things on a windows environment) but i think i can learn it quickly. Can you explain your ideas so i can tell you if i think i am able to make this ?

Zombie9246