What's new

Quick Graphics question

Kray

I'm kinda new to the whole Emulator thing so this may be an obvious question, but I haven't found a thread that addresses it so I'll ask anyway.

I've got a Dell Dimension 2400 with that integrated graphics chip built into the mother board and no AGP port so graphics are kind of a problem. I've upgraded the ram to a gig so there's no lagging but that's about all I can do apparently.

I'm trying to play Paper Mario on Project64 and every time I play it I get the "Access Violation" Error. Now I've tried rebooting, restarting, downloading graphics plugins, etc. and nothing changes it. I think the game works just fine except for that stupid error message that keeps popping up, honestly there seems to be nothing wrong with it except for that message that keeps interrupting every 5 seconds.

Bottom line I guess is, is there any way to fix this with what I have? Any answer will be much appreciated, thanks.

Agozer

16-bit Corpse | Moderator
When was the last time you updated the graphics chip's drivers? If a program gives you an access violation error, there's not much you can do, except to try and update the drivers. in some cases, even that wont' work.

Basically, the emulator is trying to either read or write to/from a memory location that it currently doesn't have access to, or the location doesn't contain any data.

OP
K

Kray

Well this is going to sound very noobish... But what exactly are the drivers and how do you update them?

As far as I've learned from looking up all the specs about my particular computer, the Dell Dimension 2400 has probably one of the worst graphics capabilities of most packages and it's not updatable either. At least that's what they say, I'm wondering if there's a way around that. Cause from what I've read in other posts is that you guys usually fix your problems with "Access Violations" by getting a new card, and I can't do that.