What's new

Dolphin for Next-Gen Consoles

haithem5000

I'm wondering, would it be possible to create Dolphin for the Xbox 360 or the PS3 (The Revolution is already backwards compatible)?

With the Xbox 360, wouldn't be possible to play at full speed?

Imagine that :)

Last edited:

Clements

Well, the Xbox 360 does use a PowerPC processor derivative and an ATi-based GPU just like the Gamecube, so I guess some functions could be easily mapped to them if the emu was written from the ground up.

But until someone codes one no one will know how it performs.

spotanjo3

I hope they will not. Because I do not liked XBOX 360 very much. I do not mind for PS3 and maybe Revolution but no way for XBOX 360, ugh!.

GCFreak

Well that's just your opinion. If they port Dolphin to the X360, I'll be very happy. We do not need a port for the Revolution because the Revolution can play games from older generation consoles.

OP
H

haithem5000

Well, let's just hope...

Well, I'm not a pro or anything, but technically, with the xbox 360's power, it should be easier to emulate the gamecube, right?

Well, let's just hope...

Coco

As was said above the 360 could most likely do it easier, but you'd have to code for the 360 and msot likely start from the ground up. I wouldn't hold your breath. If something like that ever came to be it most likely wouldn't happen for another 5 years or so. Simply because people don't code for a console from the ground up. For anyone to even consider it mod chips for it would have to be common place and they don't even exsist yet. Then development alone would take years.