What's new

Requesting info on decoding theory.

teetuck

Typical Stuff:
First post.
I'm a n00b to emulation and hacking, but I have several years experience with programming in several languages.
I've tried locating topics with a similar subject, but found none. Please forgive me if this has already been covered.

Problem:
After finding a easter egg of sorts in Starfox Adventures, I've been attempting to find the specific texture involved within the source code. See here: http://starfox-online.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=790&start=0
I got the code and ran it through GC-Tool, however, the final files are, for the most part, compressed binary. Tile Molester has proved useless on all the files I've tried.

Question:
I've never done any kind of HEX work, so could someone direct me to websites and tutorials explaining the theory behind decompressing and reading HEX files, and translating normal data from them (ie. Bitmaps)? Any specific to the Gamecube's coding scheme? Is there a tool I overlooked that would solve this problem?

afwefwe

That google result isn't going to be very helpful.

You'll probably have to deal with several methods of encoding to get at the texture data. At the lowest level, the texture could be stored palettized, raw, or compressed using S3TC. S3TC is the most likely, as it usually has the best quality-to-size ratio.

At a higher level, almost all console games store textures in a custom pack file. You'll need to figure out how to decode and unpack the file on your own unless you are very lucky and the developers used a middleware library like ADX to handle details like that.

Start at the highest level possible; try and make a program to unpack the game's pack files. Then make guesses as to which files are the textures, and figure out what format they're stored in.

Keep in mind that this probably won't be very easy to do.

KCat