What's new

Two questions

Doomulation

?????????????????????????
I'm not very good at GUI programming, really... and what's worse is that advanced functions are almost never incapsuled into the MFC classes... damn you ms!

Anyway, what I want to know is how to change the behaviour of a drop-down list. It uses the styles CBS_SIMPLE, CBS_DROPDOWNLIST or CBS_LIST I think or whatever... but the question is, how do I apply to change this behaviour? Sometimes I want the combobox simply to be a textbox, and at other times only a drop-down list. SetWindowLong didn't work for me. I tried to set these styles for it, but it didn't change! Don't get why...

Also... has anyone noticed that if you use a richtext box, the form you use it on won't display. It doesn't matter if it's MFC or not. I tracked down the problem to CreateDialogIndirect. Also affects any other of these functions that creates dialogs from templates. Oddly enough, they return a NULL pointer indicating a failiure, and yet when you call GetLastError() it returns 0 (success). That must be big miss by ms. Ooooohhh... that has GOT to hurt! I can't see how they missed that? Something is definetly wrong, and my guess is that it's in their API.

Now would anyone PLEASE answer the question above? :p Haha, thanks if you do. :happy:

aprentice

I don't know if this is what you are looking for, but I'll just post it here anyway, its a clip from an irc client i was working on in the past, if its helpful, let me know.

//Create Rich Edit Box for Chat
hEdit = CreateWindowEx(WS_EX_CLIENTEDGE, "RICHEDIT", "", WS_CHILD | WS_VISIBLE | WS_VSCROLL | ES_MULTILINE | ES_AUTOVSCROLL, 0, 0, 100, 100, hwnd, (HMENU)IDC_CHILD_EDIT, GetModuleHandle(NULL), NULL);

if(hEdit == NULL) MessageBox(hwnd, "Could not create edit box.", "Error", MB_OK | MB_ICONERROR);

SetWindowText(hEdit,"");
SetWindowPos(hEdit,HWND_TOP,0,0,0,0,SWP_NOSIZE|SWP_NOMOVE);

smcd