What's new

Feedback from a grateful 1964 newbie

Cobra95

Hello. I'm a newbie with 1964, but an emulation veteran. Up until my recent determination to stop the exhasperating Paper Mario flicker, I had been using Project64 for my N64 emulation needs. My quest led me to 1964, and I now feel like an idiot for having missed it all this time. Paper Mario still flickers like mad regardless (aaargh!) but I've gained a lot in other areas.

Up until now, I thought that my system was barely good enough to emulate an N64, because it had so many stutters and thrashing freezes with so many games. Now it's clear that the issue lies in the PJ64 core, because 1964 has *no problem* running at full speed in all games I've tried. This is my system:

Dell Dimension 8100 (Desktop)
i850-based motherboard
1.4 GHz P4
256 MB PC800 RDRAM
GeForce3 Ti200 @220/500 MHz
SB AudioPCI 64V

I'm currently running 1964 with Jabo's 1.4 DX6 plugin, Azimer's 0.40 audio, and N-Rage input. Here's some feedback on what I've found out so far:

Jabo's 1.4 DX7 fails to render near polygons (floor) in Conker (but not under PJ64), and crashes often in Zelda MM ("cannot remove Zbuffer attachment") during scene changes. DX6 works perfectly in Conker, and is more stable in Zelda MM (but still crashes occasionally--can't find error logs for this one). Copying project64.rdb into the 1964 folder solves aspect-ratio problems with my euro versions of Conker and Zelda MM (except for the subscreen with the ocarina music).

I cannot get Perfect Dark to run at the correct speed. It runs at 2X or maybe even 3X normal. Playing with the counter factor has little effect, except for the first entry (half-rate?), which slows it down closer to normal, but makes it stutter horribly. This one I can only play on PJ64, and put up with the frequent slowdowns. Nothing beats playing this game with the mouse and keyboard, though. :D