PDA

View Full Version : The classics are always the best



Allnatural
March 29th, 2004, 00:53
In my email:

Dear Citibank Member,

This email was sent by the Citibank server to verify your E-mail
address. You must complete this process by clicking on the link
below and entering in the small window your Citibank ATM/Debit
Card number and PIN that you use on ATM.

This is done for your protection - because some of our members
no longer have access to their email addresses and we must
verify it.

To verify your E-mail address and access your bank account,
click on the link below:

https://web.da-us.citibank.com/signin/citifi/scripts/email_verify.jsp

---------------------------------------

Thank you for using Citibank

---------------------------------------

lol

Oh yeah, I don't bank with Citi anyway. :crazy:

markcole
March 29th, 2004, 01:21
Oh, crap! Way to post a day late....I'm screwed!
I had big dreams for that $17.43.
I was gonna finally get a VCR.
Can you loan me some bread?
Ya know....jus til i gets on ma feet again.

pj64er
March 29th, 2004, 01:34
I know its a scam, but how did they get the citibank.com domain if its not real?

yea, im sorta nubby on this sort of thing :/

AlphaWolf
March 29th, 2004, 02:59
They didn't. In the actual email, they display that address, but they take advantage of an IE exploit by using javascript to conseal the actual address from showing up in the status bar (This email is in HTML. FYI, mozilla doesn't allow websites to conseal URLs with stupid messages when you hover over them. These messages show up as a tooltip message instead.) If you look at the email source, its also a bit deceptive in that it shows that url followed by the at symbol and a colon, followed by the address to another website, which tells the browser that the citibank text is actually a username and password for the scam website. Your average onlooker either doesn't notice this or doesn't know that fact, hence the trick. I've received about four of these throughout the last year, and afaik the perpetrators were cought. Somebody else must be doing a copycat crime.

People must be pretty damn dumb if they fall for this. Namely, no sane company would actually ask for this information in an email. Also, the grammar (and often times even spelling) in every one of these emails is terrible, which is another sign of fraud coming from some foreigner who can't speak english that well.

smegforbrain
March 31st, 2004, 01:55
People fall for it. Every day.

It's sad. I think the people that fall for it should have their cards taken away.

I think the future of the internet lies in people taking responsibilty for their actions in cyberspace, just like they must for a car and whatnot.

revl8er
March 31st, 2004, 03:01
It's sad if there is actually anyone dumb enough to click on the link.

Macca
March 31st, 2004, 04:03
i lost my home due to one of those bastards :/ it seemed real enough.

Chibi Nick
April 2nd, 2004, 09:45
It's sad. I think the people that fall for it should have their cards taken away.

I think the future of the internet lies in people taking responsibilty for their actions in cyberspace, just like they must for a car and whatnot.People are naive. It's not their fault that someone else takes advantage of that fact.


It is no one's fault but the person doing the scam.

smegforbrain
April 3rd, 2004, 05:44
People are naive. It's not their fault that someone else takes advantage of that fact.

It is no one's fault but the person doing the scam.

Yes, and if people would bother to educate themselves, they'd know better.

If you get a virus on your computer because you're too stupid to know better, and pass it along to me, I'm going to want to kick your ass just as much as the person who created it.

Like I said, you can be naive all you want, but for alot of things in life, that doesn't excuse responsibility.