What's new

Optimizing in the dynamic recompilation!

Norlin

Hello Hacktarux and others,

My name is Markus and I'm a programmer from Sweden, I don't know a lot about emulationprogramming, but my interest in the subject began when I started to use N64 emus. Unfortunatly I've not been able to play a lot as I use Linux and have a slow (500Mhz) computer, so I'm happy to see the Mupen64 project evolve the way it does...

During the past couple of weeks I've thought more and more about starting to study emulationprogramming, I downloaded and printed the book "Study of the Techniques of Emulationprogramming" by Victor Moya del Barrio, I've read the first couple of chapters and I'm starting to get a slight idea of what emulationprogramming is all about.

Here comes the reason for why I'm writing this mail, after I had read the chapters about dynamic recompilation I found there weren't any advanced optimization techniques mentioned in this book, I thought a lot about optimization in the dynarec process that day and I came up with an idea that I found quite interesting, during the next couple of days I kept thinking about this idea and different ways to implement it...

As I don't know 'anything' at all about emulation, I don't know

1. If this optimization perhaps does exist and is being used...
2. If this optimization perhaps isn't possible to implement for some reason...

I think this forum is a good place to ask about this, you seem to be great emulationprogrammers and Hacktarux's work is impressive. I'll introduce you to my ideas and it'd be very fun to hear thoughts about how something like this perhaps would work if implemented...

My optimization thoughts: