What's new

ADSL Modem in Linux

Macca

Newbie Linux Help

Hi, im very new to linux and im trying to install my ADSL modem. I'm using Mandrake 9.2 and am trying to install a D-Link DSL-200. Mandrake doesnt seem to have the drivers for it. I found this site here telling me what to do http://home.pacific.net.au/~twhitema/linux_adsl.html , but as i said i know nothing at al about Linux. could somebody please help me through it?

Also how can i access my files on my windows HD, is it possible if it is ntfs?

Thakns

Last edited:

Nighty0

Gentoo n00b
Macca said:
Hi, im very new to linux and im trying to install my ADSL modem. I'm using Mandrake 9.2 and am trying to install a D-Link DSL-200. Mandrake doesnt seem to have the drivers for it. I found this site here telling me what to do http://home.pacific.net.au/~twhitema/linux_adsl.html , but as i said i know nothing at al about Linux. could somebody please help me through it?

Also how can i access my files on my windows HD, is it possible if it is ntfs?

Thakns

http://linux-ntfs.sf.net/

i don't know this D-Link Model, is usb or ethernet?

ethernet is easy, usb is a¨%$%¨$....
i have an thomsom usb modem, and i hate that bullshit......

OP
Macca

Macca

ill prolly just get another modem, this one is a pos anyway.

anyway, if i convert my HD to Fat32 will i be able to edit the files form linux? cause in ntfs i can only view them. shanks.

mesman00

What's that...?
Macca said:

anyway, if i convert my HD to Fat32 will i be able to edit the files form linux? cause in ntfs i can only view them. shanks.

yep. in the 6.0 kernel it no longer says that writing to ntfs is dangerous if enabled. however, i have been recommend to stay with fat32 because nothing has yet been verified. unless that has changed? for now stick with fat32 and you will be safe.

OP
Macca

Macca

Slougi said:
Another relevant question is whether it is a pppoe connection or regular adsl.

im not too sure but it is a usb modem if that means anything

Nighty0