Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
  1. #1
    Emutalk Member euphoria's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    60 10' N 24 57' E
    Posts
    308
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Question Has anyone changed their motherboard's FLASH chip?

    The thing is that i was updating my bios and the worst happened, my motherboard died. So my question is, has anyone took of the flash chip and tried to flash it using another motherboard? The chip is hellofa tight stuck to the socket and i don't want to break it. Is there a 'way' to get it off or just brute force?



    Replys appreciated.

    Btw. Motherboard is Asus A7V

  2. #2
    aka Alshain Eagle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    somewhere between fantasy and reality
    Posts
    3,364
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Well, yes I have replaced a standard EEPROM before. You just have to carefully pry it loose, but another motherboard wont fix it, the only way to fix it is to get an EEPROM writer. Once the EEPROM software is damaged, there is no way to boot the motherboard, regardless of which motherboard its in (unless you have a mobo with a backup bios like some of the new ones have). And if you cant boot the motherboard, you cant flash the bios. Your only solution is to send it to the motherboard maker to have it re-written or replaced.
    Those who hope in the lord will renew their strength, they will soar on wings like eagles.

    -Isaiah 40:31

  3. #3
    aka Alshain Eagle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    somewhere between fantasy and reality
    Posts
    3,364
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    BTW, the EEPROM I replaced was my scanners firmware, but BIOS chips are the same thing.
    Those who hope in the lord will renew their strength, they will soar on wings like eagles.

    -Isaiah 40:31

  4. #4
    N64 Newbie ra5555's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    933
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    yea that happened to me once, but lucky me, all I had to do was bring it back to the manufacture and they replaced my motherboard for free. (I didn't tell them everything I did, well, I just said, I can't boot up anymore :sly: ). My advice is that don't flash when you don't need to, just in case something screws up.
    <img src="http://www.emutalk.net/attachment.php?attachmentid=10748&stc=1" >

    "Where does good judgement come from? Experience. Where does experience come from? Bad judgement. "

  5. #5
    aka Alshain Eagle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    somewhere between fantasy and reality
    Posts
    3,364
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Yeah, I never flash unless there is a bug fix or a CPU support update that I need.
    Those who hope in the lord will renew their strength, they will soar on wings like eagles.

    -Isaiah 40:31

  6. #6
    Emutalk Member euphoria's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    60 10' N 24 57' E
    Posts
    308
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Well thanks guys, i got the chip out in one piece last night.
    The other motherboard thing i was talking about, i meant that i have an practically identical motherboard (Asus A7V133) so i thought that booting that up and just before running the flashing software i'd change the chips onboard and flash the dead one with its BIOS and change the chips back again.
    I just had a couple of thoughts regarding this method,
    Will the chip be damaged when changed on-the-fly?
    And will the flashing operation change anything else on the motherboard, so that when i boot up after the whole process will the A7V133 think that something has changed or worse will there be data from the A7V somewhere on it?

    phew.

    I really don't wanna pay 50€ for updating the goddamn flash chip!

  7. #7
    aka Alshain Eagle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    somewhere between fantasy and reality
    Posts
    3,364
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Whoa there, dont try to remove the bios while its running, dont try to remove it while it pluged in, thats a bad idea. You will end up trashing both the bios and the motherboard.
    Those who hope in the lord will renew their strength, they will soar on wings like eagles.

    -Isaiah 40:31

  8. #8
    EmuTalk Member Siggie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    17
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    If you boot the good mainboard and load the flashutil you can just remove the bios chip. Put in the bad one and flash it.
    Have done that a couple of times at work without a problem.
    Just make sure both mainboards are exactly same.

    Good Luck

  9. #9
    Emutalk Member euphoria's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    60 10' N 24 57' E
    Posts
    308
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Originally posted by Siggie
    If you boot the good mainboard and load the flashutil you can just remove the bios chip. Put in the bad one and flash it.
    Have done that a couple of times at work without a problem.
    Just make sure both mainboards are exactly same.

    Good Luck
    Thanks. The thing is that the motherboards are not exactly the same, but close as hell since the only difference is the CPU bus speed. But that could make the difference that is crucial. I'll have to think what i'm going to do...

  10. #10
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Chester, England
    Posts
    5,220
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    The CPU multiplier settings are kept in CMOS, so you'll be fine with that. You could just reset CMOS before booting up - is all.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •