Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    EmuTalk Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Can someone explain to me why texture packs can't be applied to a rom with a patch?

    Mostly wondering if there will ever come a time when plug ins aren't required for texture packs.

  2. #2
    Texture Pack Invader NES_player4LIFE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    2,231
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    No as the video plugin is required to actually see the game play.
    -NES
    We are in the process of archiving all qualifying texture packs!
    Contact me via PM to have your N64 texture pack hosted on Emulation64.com!
    Having a hard time loading Large packs? Be sure to patch your emulator.
    Can't load .DAT or .HTC archives? Look no further then this shiny Tutorial, Android users may use this Tutorial.

      Spoiler:

  3. #3
    EmuTalk Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    I meant specific plug ins (such as Glide64) that are required to use texture packs.
    Last edited by timone317; April 25th, 2018 at 13:16.

  4. #4
    Texture Pack Invader NES_player4LIFE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    2,231
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    still no, and romhacking is far to involved and the game itself would take forever to run.
    Allow me to explain.
    Lets use oot as an example:
    Game size is 32MB in size (this is the size of the Good64 file there may be others larger or smaller)
    The latest texture pack for this game is a little less then 1GB and when decompressed it exceedes 1GB of ram to load.
    The N64 hardware was not ment to run anything that size and the largest rom for that system is 256MB i think.
    This is not to say that there have been emulators modified for certain projects such as Supermario starroad but these mutant emulators are super buggy and are rejected by most of the emulation community.
    -NES
    We are in the process of archiving all qualifying texture packs!
    Contact me via PM to have your N64 texture pack hosted on Emulation64.com!
    Having a hard time loading Large packs? Be sure to patch your emulator.
    Can't load .DAT or .HTC archives? Look no further then this shiny Tutorial, Android users may use this Tutorial.

      Spoiler:

  5. #5
    EmuTalk Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Interesting...well, that's the answer I was looking for.

  6. #6
    EmuTalk Member
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by NES_player4LIFE View Post
    The N64 hardware was not ment to run anything that size and the largest rom for that system is 256MB i think.
    The largest ROM's running on original hardware were 64 MB (aka 512 mbits). Games such as Conker's Bad Fur Day, Resident Evil 2 & Paper Mario were 64 MB.


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •