Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 83

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    EmuTalk Member CCTEX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    111
    Mentioned
    13 Post(s)

    HighResEaser 1.6 CCTEX MOD

    This post is left for documentation of features introduced in v1.6

    See first post for most current version and documentation of added features since this release

    Download HighResEaser CCTEX MOD 1.6


    New features:
    -ROBOWRITE function encodes textures to be automatically red by ROBOREAD
    -ROBOREAD function decodes/arranges ROBOWRITE textures automatically

    Changes:
    -

    Bugfixes:
    -Bugfix from original HRE that prevented loading transparent textures


    Watch the ROBOREADER demo from HRE 1.6:





    Documentation of features introduced in this version:

      Spoiler:

    Modification Utility 1: (Listed as 'ROBO-WRITE under the 'font color' drop-down in 'Dialog 1 Load Mark Export...')
    NOTE: This must be used prior to ROBO-READ.

    Set scaling as desired, ID Position will be ignored. Select your source/save directories as usual. Your textures will be processed with encoded color overlays to be read later by ROBO-READ.




    You need to take a screenshot of the encoded textures in use in the emulator, it will look something like this:







    Modification Utility 2: (Listed as 'ROBO-READ under the 'ID position' drop-down in 'Dialog 1 Load Mark Export...')
    NOTE: After processing your textures with ROBO-WRITE, you need to take a screenshot of the processed background textures while in use in the emulator.

    All other parameters are ignored when using ROBO-READ.




    You will be asked for the directory containing your screenshot, make sure there are no other files in the directory other than your screenshot.
    (Suggests creating New Folder @project64\Screenshot\New Folder)
    Once directory is created simply move the Screenshot to the new folder.




    You are then prompted for the total amount of textures contained in the background. Be sure to enter this correctly:




    Before ROBO-READ processes the screenshot, you have a chance to change the horizontal offset (px) from its default of 1. ROBO-READ processes the screenshot in a straight line vertically from top to bottom. If there is any obstruction (such as a title texture, or other overlay) at the 1px mark, you can enter a horizontal offset value that will provide ROBO-READ a clear path to read the color bars all the way from top to bottom.




    After a few seconds of processing the decoded values are automatically fed into Step 2 of HighResEaser!




    From here you use the program as you normally would, clicking run, selecting the directory containing the original textures, and you're done. Here is the result for this example for the background textures:




    And there you have it. I hope it saves people time. Please note, I did not code input form error handling, so if you enter something goofy into the prompt boxes, you will get a goofy result
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Background Capture.png 
Views:	635 
Size:	74.1 KB 
ID:	39700   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	rw.jpg 
Views:	655 
Size:	18.9 KB 
ID:	39620   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	rr.jpg 
Views:	660 
Size:	19.0 KB 
ID:	39621   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ssd.jpg 
Views:	665 
Size:	31.0 KB 
ID:	39622   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	d1.jpg 
Views:	657 
Size:	18.3 KB 
ID:	39624  

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	d2.jpg 
Views:	643 
Size:	21.5 KB 
ID:	39625   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	csv.jpg 
Views:	654 
Size:	40.4 KB 
ID:	39626   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Title-Composite.png 
Views:	669 
Size:	483.0 KB 
ID:	39627  
    Last edited by CCTEX; September 21st, 2015 at 11:46. Reason: Housekeeping

  2. #2
    EmuTalk Member CCTEX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    111
    Mentioned
    13 Post(s)

    Post Script Archives

    Archives of every MOD since v1.5
    Attached Files Attached Files

  3. #3
    Texture Pack Invader NES_player4LIFE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    2,158
    Mentioned
    20 Post(s)
    This removes any human error, that is super cool.
    You never cease to amaze!

    @CCTEX
    Couldn't you have greater color range if you programmed a color sequence? You can go from 32 bit to 128 bit by having the script write and read color patterns instead of solid rows.

    I'm not sure, but I don't think they exceed 10 or 14, 24 should be more then enough.
    As far as the amount of textures per background; I don't think that they exceed 120.
    -NES
    We are in the process of archiving all qualifying texture packs!
    Contact me via PM to have your N64 texture pack hosted on Emulation64.com!
    Having a hard time loading Large packs? Be sure to patch your emulator.
    Can't load .DAT or .HTC archives? Look no further then this shiny Tutorial, Android users may use this Tutorial.

      Spoiler:

  4. #4
    EmuTalk Member CCTEX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    111
    Mentioned
    13 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by NES_player4LIFE View Post
    @CCTEX
    Couldn't you have greater color range if you programmed a color sequence? You can go from 32 bit to 128 bit by having the script write and read color patterns instead of solid rows.

    As far as the amount of textures per background; I don't think that they exceed 120.
    I absolutely could do that. Right now, i just took the path of least resistance and used the existing variables that count the amount of 1s, 5s and 10s for the abacus, divide each corresponding RGB channel into sections corresponding to the maximum amount any of those variables could have (for example, 1s never exceed 4 so R is divided into 5 sections to represent 0-4), then assign a color value dead center of one of those sections that the script can later read from the screenshot you provide with a tolerance for the color being slightly off. I noticed PJ64 distorts color channels slightly so ranges were necessary. Definitely not the most logical way to do it, but it required the least amount of re-coding. If the amount of textures doesnt exceed 120, then i guess it doesnt matter anyway! Best part is, it takes under 3 seconds to process.

    It might be useful to include an x axis offset option for when the script processes the color samples. Right now it statically samples 1,y all the way down. It may be useful if user could provide x in case there is an obstructing texture covering part of the background in the screenshot, you could have x correspond more towards the center or right side of the screen, depending on where the obstructing textures are located.

  5. #5
    Texture Pack Invader NES_player4LIFE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    2,158
    Mentioned
    20 Post(s)
    There must be a mathematical solution to separate alike colors from ever being next to each other within the same texture.
    Shading colors are more likely to be misread I would think. A sequence of hard colors such as Red Yellow Blue Green would be safer.
    I'm not sure what the code would be or how to find it.

    As far as "obstructing textures" I have posted about this a few posts up. Not sure if it helps.
    -NES
    We are in the process of archiving all qualifying texture packs!
    Contact me via PM to have your N64 texture pack hosted on Emulation64.com!
    Having a hard time loading Large packs? Be sure to patch your emulator.
    Can't load .DAT or .HTC archives? Look no further then this shiny Tutorial, Android users may use this Tutorial.

      Spoiler:

  6. #6
    EmuTalk Member CCTEX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    111
    Mentioned
    13 Post(s)
    Considering i dont need to support more than 120 textures, theres no need to change anything as the existing code already handles the pj64 color degradation flawlessly. I just added the option for the user to choose the x coordinate for the sampling line. I put it in so users dont have to necessarily make transparent title/overlay textures to get a perfect, unobstructed screenshot, they can just leave them as is and tell the program where they want the sampling line to be, avoiding the obstructions.

    Its actually ready to release, but I'm trying to see if theres a way to take that automated number/comma list and feed it directly into step 2 of his script, making it as seamless as possible, no having to restart the script, and no copying or pasting... Would be cool!

  7. #7
    Texture Pack Invader NES_player4LIFE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    2,158
    Mentioned
    20 Post(s)
    Sounds great, I was having a hard time trying to figure out how you would code RGB. 120 should be just right and if not this is still a huge improvement that can be refined.

    One step processing would be even better.
    -NES
    We are in the process of archiving all qualifying texture packs!
    Contact me via PM to have your N64 texture pack hosted on Emulation64.com!
    Having a hard time loading Large packs? Be sure to patch your emulator.
    Can't load .DAT or .HTC archives? Look no further then this shiny Tutorial, Android users may use this Tutorial.

      Spoiler:

  8. #8
    Texture Pack Invader NES_player4LIFE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    2,158
    Mentioned
    20 Post(s)
    999 textures! This has me wondering if, with some tweaking; sprite mapping could become possible. It would require video capturing of game play and output to a 3d interactive spirit sheet. (Model of slices) (GIF).
    -NES
    We are in the process of archiving all qualifying texture packs!
    Contact me via PM to have your N64 texture pack hosted on Emulation64.com!
    Having a hard time loading Large packs? Be sure to patch your emulator.
    Can't load .DAT or .HTC archives? Look no further then this shiny Tutorial, Android users may use this Tutorial.

      Spoiler:

  9. #9
    EmuTalk Member CCTEX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    111
    Mentioned
    13 Post(s)
    1.6 Bugfix Update:

    1. Found & fixed a bug of mine in the ROBOWRITE function when transparency is present in title textures, affecting the width of the encoded color overlays.

    2. Found & fixed a similar bug of Microdev's present in his function for loading/arranging marked textures, which caused title textures with transparency to be cutoff.

    The download link for version 1.6 has also been replaced in the master post to reflect these changes.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  10. #10
    Texture Pack Invader NES_player4LIFE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    2,158
    Mentioned
    20 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by CCTEX View Post
    1.6 Bugfix Update:

    1. Found & fixed a bug of mine in the ROBOWRITE function when transparency is present in title textures, affecting the width of the encoded color overlays.

    2. Found & fixed a similar bug of Microdev's present in his function for loading/arranging marked textures, which caused title textures with transparency to be cutoff.

    The download link for version 1.6 has also been replaced in the master post to reflect these changes.
    That's right! I had forgotten that HRE shrinks the image to only use the visible texture thus causing a read error.
    Thanks for the fix!
    @CCTEX I have yielded my first post in this thread to you, thus granting you a third top post to add attachments.
    Please keep attachments with in the top posts for the sake of organization. This way information is not buried deep in the thread.
    -NES
    We are in the process of archiving all qualifying texture packs!
    Contact me via PM to have your N64 texture pack hosted on Emulation64.com!
    Having a hard time loading Large packs? Be sure to patch your emulator.
    Can't load .DAT or .HTC archives? Look no further then this shiny Tutorial, Android users may use this Tutorial.

      Spoiler:

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •