What's new

Need help - Mupen64 only runs .n64 files

DougOSU

Hi all,
I am new to emulation. I have Mupen64 Plus on my Galaxy tablet, and it runs most roms with .n64 file extensions perfectly. However, when I try to run some roms (especially other formats like .v64 but also some .n64 files too) I just get a black screen with the virtual buttons but nothing else showing up. This happens with BattleTanx and BattleTanx Global Assault, for example.

Do I need some sort of codec or other application to help these files run?

Thanks in advance for any help.

NES_player4LIFE

Texture Pack Invader
Rename .v64 to .n64
Those games don't run correctly on computers so getting them to run on a tablet would be near imposable.

OP
D

DougOSU

Thanks for the quick reply.

I tried that but still not working :( Any other possible fixes?

NES_player4LIFE

Texture Pack Invader
As I said before I wouldn't count on these particular Roms running correctly. They were always buggy for me plus I never got into playing them. :p

On my first attempt to rename BattleTanx.v64 I inadvertently named it to (BattleTanx.v64.n64) that won't help you very much I'm afraid.
Try renaming the file again using this method.

There is a plugin called GlideN64 that is in the works that may render the video correctly, if that is the issue, however the plugin is still in the beta stages.

Last edited:
F

Fanatic 64

The problem is propably that the ROM is Byteswapped (V64) instead of Big Endian (N64, Z64). In this case just changing the extension will not help. Download this and convert your ROMs to Big Endian (if on a cellphone, transfer your ROMs to your PC, convert them, and transfer them back).

Also be aware that by donating to GLideN64 you are not buying software. What you get is an early preview of in-development software, as a bonus for your contribution. Plus I don't think it would work on Android at this stage.

OP
D

DougOSU

OK, I will try those recommendations too. THanks again for all the help.