Page 5 of 8 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 78

Thread: GB Enhanced

  1. #41
    EmuTalk Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    165
    Mentioned
    28 Post(s)
    I thought about a key press (like keys 0-9) to act like slots. That would definitely work, I'm just not sure it's a perfect solution. It'd work great if you switch levels or areas that use a solid color to represent different things (a forest, or a mountain, like Kirby's Dreamland). But what if you wanted the sky and the ground to be separate graphics? In the picture you posted, GBE would take the first row 8x8 tiles underneath the HUD and make them the same tiles as the ground. I think I have a decent solution, but I haven't exactly tested it out yet.


  2. #42
    Dcemu.co.uk guy LyonHrt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    swansea, wales
    Posts
    306
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Shonumi View Post
    I thought about a key press (like keys 0-9) to act like slots. That would definitely work, I'm just not sure it's a perfect solution. It'd work great if you switch levels or areas that use a solid color to represent different things (a forest, or a mountain, like Kirby's Dreamland). But what if you wanted the sky and the ground to be separate graphics? In the picture you posted, GBE would take the first row 8x8 tiles underneath the HUD and make them the same tiles as the ground. I think I have a decent solution, but I haven't exactly tested it out yet.
    Yeah that is quite restricting, in that pic you see the grey blocks for the ground is also the same as under the score. I did read a bit with what the hdnes author and ideas on how he would tackle the problem, with the use of scripts. Whether the same ideas could apply here i don't know.

    the topic discussing that is here.

  3. #43
    EmuTalk Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    26
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Shonumi View Post
    I thought about a key press (like keys 0-9) to act like slots. That would definitely work, I'm just not sure it's a perfect solution. It'd work great if you switch levels or areas that use a solid color to represent different things (a forest, or a mountain, like Kirby's Dreamland). But what if you wanted the sky and the ground to be separate graphics? In the picture you posted, GBE would take the first row 8x8 tiles underneath the HUD and make them the same tiles as the ground. I think I have a decent solution, but I haven't exactly tested it out yet.
    In that specific case, that there are tiles aways on floor and always on the sky its possible to program the emulator to show diferent tiles according to their coordinates at emulator screen?

    Example:

    original tile with solid color is xxx.png
    if originaltile is in upper half of the screen show substitutetile x
    else if originaltile is in botton half of the screen show substitutetile y

    Maybe associate with the percentage of y axis so it can adapt to any resolution of the screen and we can have different options of solid tiles for different parts of the screen.

  4. #44
    EmuTalk Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    165
    Mentioned
    28 Post(s)
    @chiburunga - That would work as well, but only some of the time. Imagine you have the ground being a solid color and the sky is that same color. Say you did replace them both based on their Y coordinates so that the sky is blue, and the ground is brown. Now imagine the player falls into a pit, and the screen scrolls down too. Eventually the "ground" tiles scroll up to the top of the screen (imagine the walls of the pit take up the full vertical length of the screen). Some of the topmost "ground" tiles would accidentally be replaced with "sky" tiles, even though in the game you're in a pit, away from the sky.

    The best solution I've come up with yet works like this:



    The emulator chooses one tile to act as a sort of "anchor". It looks at the "anchor", then if any tiles above, below, left, or right of it match a solid color (gray in this example), it replaces them accordingly. You'd be able to specify which tiles above it are for the ground and which tiles below it are for the sky. Left and right seem less useful than up and down, but it's no trouble to implement them all. When a new anchor comes on-screen, then it can switch to something else, so making different graphics for different levels is possible. The tricky thing is making this easy for the user. I don't want them to spend more than a few seconds on it, and no head scratching, screaming at the computer, or pounding on the keyboard
    Last edited by Shonumi; May 14th, 2015 at 02:05.

  5. #45
    EmuTalk Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    26
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Shonumi View Post
    @chiburunga - That would work as well, but only some of the time. Imagine you have the ground being a solid color and the sky is that same color. Say you did replace them both based on their Y coordinates so that the sky is blue, and the ground is brown. Now imagine the player falls into a pit, and the screen scrolls down too. Eventually the "ground" tiles scroll up to the top of the screen (imagine the walls of the pit take up the full vertical length of the screen). Some of the topmost "ground" tiles would accidentally be replaced with "sky" tiles, even though in the game you're in a pit, away from the sky.

    The best solution I've come up with yet works like this:



    The emulator chooses one tile to act as a sort of "anchor". It looks at the "anchor", then if any tiles above, below, left, or right of it match a solid color (gray in this example), it replaces them accordingly. You'd be able to specify which tiles above it are for the ground and which tiles below it are for the sky. Left and right seem less useful than up and down, but it's no trouble to implement them all. When a new anchor comes on-screen, then it can switch to something else, so making different graphics for different levels is possible. The tricky thing is making this easy for the user. I don't want them to spend more than a few seconds on it, and no head scratching, screaming at the computer, or pounding on the keyboard
    Thanks shonumi! I Think that a easy way to select a tile as anchor is to put a flag in the name file... example:

    actualtilename.png

    To make this tile the anchor just rename to actualtilename_anchor0001.png and the solid tiles to actualfilename_above0001.png or actualfilename_bellow0001.png

    Could also use the HUD tiles to make anchors... for example if tile corresponding to 1 - 1 (in world 1 -1 in mario hud) use tile x to substitute solid tile y
    Last edited by chiburunga; May 15th, 2015 at 02:23.

  6. #46
    EmuTalk Member
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    The fact is that, although both tiles are identical, they are not the same tile.

    If you look at the tilemap from that part of the game, you find the following tiles loaded in memory (see attached pic).

    The ones highlighted in red (tile 232 and tile 339 in this case) are the ones used for the ground (232) and the sky (339).

    So if you find a way to identify where in the tilemap is that particular tile, then depending on that, you can replace it with different tiles.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  7. #47
    EmuTalk Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    165
    Mentioned
    28 Post(s)
    The thing is, while this works for SML (using tile numbers to differentiate tiles with the same pixel data) it's not a global solution. Other games will use the exact same tile with the exact same pixel data to draw different parts of the BG. The problem isn't getting it to work with one game in one instance; it's about getting to work for every game under every reasonable circumstance. The solution you've brought up has been mentioned before (just look at the tilemap entry numbers to add to the hash) but it will still mess up other games.

    What's worse about relying on tile numbers (for both OAM and BG VRAM data) is that there is always the possibility for things to get reshuffled whenever the screen scrolls. It's not a problem in SML (you can clearly see all of the data for World 1-1 is loaded) but other games constantly swap out stuff and rearrange the tiles.
    Last edited by Shonumi; May 15th, 2015 at 17:56.

  8. #48
    EmuTalk Member
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Yes, i'm not telling to replace the detection method. But for those special cases where there are identical (but separate) tiles, you could do:
    IF (Your actual tile detection method) AND (tile position is 339) THEN use tile "sky". For all other cases, then it would use tile "ground".
    It could be done as additional conditions, so the user can "add" this condition in the cases where he needs it.

  9. #49
    EmuTalk Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    26
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Maybe it is impossible to have a universal type of tile anchor... maybe the way is to have multple anchor logics, so the remaker could select the most apropriate for each game.

  10. #50
    EmuTalk Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    165
    Mentioned
    28 Post(s)
    @hi-ban - See, but there's no guarantee at all that tile numbers will be consistent while playing the game. Even if using tile numbers were an extra condition, imagine you have a GB game that shuffles VRAM around when it scrolls to load new sections of a level. Looking for tile position 339 might be suitable for the first few screens, but as soon as the player starts moving, the game logic shifts everything around. The tile at tile position 339 is now somewhere else (225, 181, 5, anything really). Not every game is like that (SML is not one), but in many games tile numbers are quite arbitrary. That's one of the reasons I've been against looking at tile numbers/positions from the start; they can change at any moment, potentially. I prefer anchor tiles because they're independent of everything else except the actual 8x8 pixel data.

    @chiburunga - Yes, just using one anchor tile (for the whole game, or even a single level) is actually impractical. The system would allow for multiple anchor tiles. Naturally, if two have regions that overlap, the one processed last will take priority. As long as users know how to use anchor tiles, they should be able to avoid conflicts where one tile "fights" to be shown over the other.

Page 5 of 8 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •