What's new

Loading Sixtyforce Game Freezes

Morshu9001

[SEMI-SUCCESS] Loading Sixtyforce Game Freezes

I've been using Sixtyforce to play games but want to switch over to Mupen64Plus or Mupen64. The problem is that I am not willing to start Majora's Mask from the beginning after all the progress I've made. Does anyone know how to convert the game freezes so that Mupen64(Plus) can read them?

I've uploaded an example save state for anyone who wants to see its format. If anyone is kind enough to show me how to convert it manually, I will make a tool to do it automatically (since I'm a programmer) and post it here :satisfied

Attachments

• ZELDA MAJORA'S MASK Freeze.zip
    3.2 MB · Views: 175
Last edited:
F

Fanatic 64

It is very hard, if not impossible to convert freezes/instant saves between emulators. What you can do is make a native save (save at an Owl Statue in-game) and it should work in the other emulator just by renaming it (check the name of the native save that is automatically generated by M64P).

OP
M

Morshu9001

Thanks for the suggestion, but it's not working. I took the battery save from Sixtyforce and put it into Mupen64Plus (after changing the name and extension), and my save file didn't show up. I tried letting Mupen make its own save file then opened both in TextEdit. They look like they have different headers; Sixtyforce has some stuff at the beginning about name, size, and "type".

I've been messing around trying to copy just part of the Sixtyforce save onto an existing Mupen save with my hexadecimal editor, no luck so far. Comparing two different Mupen saves for Majora's Mask, I can't find the header either. Gotta read a guide on how these things are formatted.

Last edited:
OP
M

Morshu9001