What's new

Gamecube compatability for wii games.

gothic717433

I've just downloaded Monster Hunter Tri, and the newest version of dolphin. The game runs fine, but I don't want to have to use a mouse and keyboard to play the game. Is it possible for me to use my wired xbox controller? It picks it up, and I can configure it as a gamecube controller, but even though I have it set to port 1, none of the buttons on it work and the mouse is still used as a normal wii cursor. So to make it simpler to understand, is it possible to use an emulated gamecube controller for wii games rather than using a wii controller, like you can on a normal wii. If not, is it possible for me to configure my xbox controller for use as a wii classic controller? This is the first time I'm using a wii game on dolphin, so i'm kinda new to all this :p

thanks

Clements

All the things you mention are all possible with Dolphin's input plugin. I use a wired X360 controller myself and it works really well for Wii games that are less reliant on the motion controls.

If the Wii game supported GC controllers (like Smash Bros Brawl), then you can configure the GC pad in the input plugin and it will work with that. Games that support the Classic Controller (like Xenoblade) can be configured in the Wii input settings under attachments, where you can configure your pad. Similar with the nunchuck attachment that is required to play some games. You just need to be sure what the Wii game supports in terms of input and set up the plugin accordingly. You can create custom input profiles for different games in the input plugin to save some hassle as well.

I suggest you play around in the input plugin until you are happy with the controls. Someone may be able to provide you with a profile but there are already quite a few available on the internet that you could try, such as those found here:

http://forums.dolphin-emulator.com/showthread.php?tid=14934

OP
G

gothic717433