Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    EmuTalk Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    93
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    N64 Nemu and Perfect Dark 1.1

    Is there any way to load Nemu and Perfect Dark 1.1 in lo res 4 meg mode? Whenever I do it, it seems to not load at all, get stuck right away in some kind of loop.

    Last edited by SubDrag; March 6th, 2011 at 22:09.

  2. #2
    Master of the Emulation Flame MasterPhW's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    come-to-hell
    Posts
    1,976
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    It's a problem with the Nemu64.ini.
    There are wrong settings, that will get PD into an infinite loop.
    I've started a new nemu64.ini project a lot years ago, but never finished it, so sadly I can't provide the complete proper settings for the game.
    But if you delete or rename your ini and start the game again it will work. It will detect the microcode 7 and start the 1.1 version without problems.
    Btw: Are you the SubDrag of RWP? Nice to see you posting here.
    The Future of Emulation: Emulate a High End Computer on a Low End System
    Main: Intel Core i7 (Lynnfiled) 860 (@3.802Ghz) | 8 GB DDR3-1333 | ATI XFX HD 5750 PCI-E | ATI High Definition Audio Device | 256 GB SSD + 3 TB Internal SATA2 + 4 TB external | Windows 7 Professional X64 SP1 MSDNAA
    Netbook: Asus EeePC 1015PEM | Intel Atom Dual Core N550 (1,5GHz) | 2GB DDR3-1066 | Intel GMA 3150 | 250GB HDD | Win 7 Starter
    Old One: AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ (2x2.5Ghz; S939) | MSI KbT Neo2-F V2.0 | 2x1GB Corsair Value VS1GBKIT400 | Radeon HD 3850 512 MB/AGP8x | Creative SB Audigy LS | 2TB (4x500GB SATA2 HDDs Raid0) | Windows 7 Business X64 SP1 MSDNAA



  3. #3
    EmuTalk Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    93
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Oops, I didn't phrase my question right. Is there any way to load Nemu and PD 1.1 in lo res (4 Meg mode). It works amazing in 8 meg mode. It loops at 70001938, beq to itself, maybe a protection/lockout? Nopping it did not help, but does get it to show the PD Copyright on the top or something like that, before crashing/constantly going to exception handler.
    Yes it's me

  4. #4
    Master of the Emulation Flame MasterPhW's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    come-to-hell
    Posts
    1,976
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Ahh, I c what you did there.
    I just read through my N64 dev docs and found out, that it seems to be a problem with the RSP memory registers, to be specific the SP Registers.
    According to my docs:
    SP_MEM_ADDR_REG (0xA4040000) - Location to DMEM or IMEM to write to, commonly zero.
    Bit 12 selects (1) IMEM or (0) DMEM. So to transfer to/from starting at 0 write 0x1000 for IMEM or 0x0 for DMEM to this register.
    Nemu64 states, that PD 1.1 in 4MB Ram mode writes an invalid value to this place.
    The problem is, that nemu64 has a non changeable rsp directly included into the emulator, so it seems that there's no way to fix it sadly.
    The source of nemu64 0.8 sadly was never released only the gfx plugin had a source release (located here), but that won't help you... sorry.
    The Future of Emulation: Emulate a High End Computer on a Low End System
    Main: Intel Core i7 (Lynnfiled) 860 (@3.802Ghz) | 8 GB DDR3-1333 | ATI XFX HD 5750 PCI-E | ATI High Definition Audio Device | 256 GB SSD + 3 TB Internal SATA2 + 4 TB external | Windows 7 Professional X64 SP1 MSDNAA
    Netbook: Asus EeePC 1015PEM | Intel Atom Dual Core N550 (1,5GHz) | 2GB DDR3-1066 | Intel GMA 3150 | 250GB HDD | Win 7 Starter
    Old One: AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ (2x2.5Ghz; S939) | MSI KbT Neo2-F V2.0 | 2x1GB Corsair Value VS1GBKIT400 | Radeon HD 3850 512 MB/AGP8x | Creative SB Audigy LS | 2TB (4x500GB SATA2 HDDs Raid0) | Windows 7 Business X64 SP1 MSDNAA



  5. #5
    EmuTalk Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    93
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Does it sound like misemulation, or something weird the game does? If it's something weird the game does you might be able to bypass it by changing the ROM. So it's during a copy of ROM to RAM? Wonder if you can breakpoint on that address in Nemu.

  6. #6
    Master of the Emulation Flame MasterPhW's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    come-to-hell
    Posts
    1,976
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    I really dunno. There's where my N64 knowledge ends. It's very limited...
    You could probably try the different rom versions that has been fixed or overdumped or even the [b] to see, whether it's the game or the emulator. It could also be, that even when PD 1.1 is listed as [!] it's still a bad rom, so I really don't know.
    Sadly Lemmy never released the source of his almighty debugger, so it hasn't been ported to another emulator which is capable in running the rom, so we could get more information.
    The Future of Emulation: Emulate a High End Computer on a Low End System
    Main: Intel Core i7 (Lynnfiled) 860 (@3.802Ghz) | 8 GB DDR3-1333 | ATI XFX HD 5750 PCI-E | ATI High Definition Audio Device | 256 GB SSD + 3 TB Internal SATA2 + 4 TB external | Windows 7 Professional X64 SP1 MSDNAA
    Netbook: Asus EeePC 1015PEM | Intel Atom Dual Core N550 (1,5GHz) | 2GB DDR3-1066 | Intel GMA 3150 | 250GB HDD | Win 7 Starter
    Old One: AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ (2x2.5Ghz; S939) | MSI KbT Neo2-F V2.0 | 2x1GB Corsair Value VS1GBKIT400 | Radeon HD 3850 512 MB/AGP8x | Creative SB Audigy LS | 2TB (4x500GB SATA2 HDDs Raid0) | Windows 7 Business X64 SP1 MSDNAA



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •