What's new

Glide 64 Crashes

Status
Not open for further replies.
Glide 64 causes my Project 64 to crash. I do not know what the problem is. If I got to the "Advanced options" So that I can set up my high res and when I go back into my options it crashes.

I tried it with 1964 and encounter the same problem. Help would be greatly appreciated. I'm a noob at this.

OP
P

piggofdoom

Pigg
I have a NVIDA GeForce 310 M
I updated the drivers

I am fairly certain that I have the most updated version of glide64, unless that is not the one on their website.

nominal

I'll just post this here so that I don't create a new thread:

Problem
I don't know why, but both PJ64 (1.6/1.7 -- yes, both) and 1964 have been crashing with the recent Glide video plugin. I am using "WIP build. revision 231" at the moment. My operating system is Windows 7 32-bit.

The plugin ONLY crashed when I enabled Rice texture enhancement. I tried every combination of options (I checked/unchecked various boxes, texture compression, ran all emulators in UAC/Windows Vista/Windows XP mode), and still...it'd crash. So, I reinstalled every emulator to another folder on my desktop (so that I wouldn't have to deal with running in "admin" mode) -- and re-downloaded the plugins. Still nothing. I tried everything again, and took note of "when" the emulators were crashing. PJ64 would crash during texture loading, and 1964 would crash after the start screen (in Majora's Mask). And then, I had an idea!

The fix
Because 1964 actually loaded the game and the textures, I ran it, let it load, and exited out. I then took the "cache" that the Glide plugin under 1964 made, and copied it to the cache under my PJ64 directory. Ran PJ64, and voilà it works. Apart from my computer not being able to run the game at 60 V/I all the time (pretty much during the motion blur...but even when I turn it off (Alt + B), whatever, this is not the place.), it runs great. So, here are some steps if anyone else is having this same problem.