What's new

Project 64 Help - Getting Started

Gilfareth

I am completely new to roms, emulators, the like. I just recently downloaded Project 64, as well as a ROM of Majora's Mask as a .7z file, then unzipped to mutliple .Z64 files. I put these into a New Folder (simply titled Zelda), though there were mutiple different files. I've tried accessing each one (through PJ64 > File > Open Rom > the ROM itself, but the screen comes up completely black each time. Is there something I am missing, or some step I haven't completed yet? Any help would be appreciated.

Agozer

16-bit Corpse | Moderator
1. You only need one ROM file. The 7-Zip file most likely contains all known dumps of Majora's Mask (including bad ones, hacks, different regions and what have you), so look for the file and ends in [!], (U), or both.
2. Extract the file to Project64's Roms directory. Don't make a separate one for the game. (that is, unless you want to change the default folders manually under Options --> Settings --> Directories.
3. Use Project64's ROM Browser to launch games (PJ64 will automatically list all games found in its Roms folder in the browser). You don't need to use File --> Open ROM at all.
4. If the game still shows just black screen, you need to post your computer specs.

Pyromanik

There's no reason why file->open shouldn't work.
How is the emulator configured?
Did you download it from the Project 64 website, or somewhere else?
Which version are you using, with which plugins? (options->settings)

Also share your computer specs as Agozer said.

I would suggest finding a clean ROM (singluar) from a good source, and use the ROM browser (options->settings->directories->rom directory).
That was the emulator will give you some information about the roms itself.

OP
G

Gilfareth

Alright, first I need to know what specs involved, and where to find them. I downloaded version 1.6 from this website, and the plugins I have are as follows:

Jabo's Direct3D8 1.6 (default, in use)