Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Stranger and foreigner peroikos's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    East Syracuse, NY, USA
    Posts
    8
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Save error - Virtual Boy Advance

    When I'm trying to save (not using the emulator function, in game), I'm getting the message: "Save error. Please exchange the backup memory." Forum searches directed me here, but I don't know what to do with the .ips file. Do I put it in the save folder as the .exe or what? Thank you.

    "We're not doing it for money, we're doing it for a sh*tload of money!"

    You may also know me as:
    akrabbim | Wan Car Lhos


    • Advertising

      advertising
      EmuTalk.net
      has no influence
      on the ads that
      are displayed
        
       

  2. #2
    Moderator smcd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    2,533
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    get an ips patching program... lunar ips, gbata (i attached this one to the thread), and apply the .ips to the game
    Attached Files Attached Files

  3. #3
    Moderator Clements's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    5,491
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    None of the Pokemon games require IPS patches when using VBA. Set the save type correctly (Flash+128K).

  4. #4
    Stranger and foreigner peroikos's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    East Syracuse, NY, USA
    Posts
    8
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    The IPS patching didn't seem to do anything,

    Clements, I set the save type to Flash128, but what am I supposed to have besides that? Is it automatic, SRAM, Flash, none seem to be working. Right now I have the save type as Flash, with Flash128. Also, is this related to the "The 1M sub-circuit board is not installed" message at the beginning of the game?
    "We're not doing it for money, we're doing it for a sh*tload of money!"

    You may also know me as:
    akrabbim | Wan Car Lhos

  5. #5
    Stranger and foreigner peroikos's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    East Syracuse, NY, USA
    Posts
    8
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    I'm still at a loss to what is wrong. I have tried with all different save types, and none seem to be working. This problem also occurs in NO$GBA and BoycottAdvance, as well as VBA. The problem must be beyond the save type. Any other suggestions?

    Thanks again
    Last edited by peroikos; November 12th, 2007 at 02:08.
    "We're not doing it for money, we're doing it for a sh*tload of money!"

    You may also know me as:
    akrabbim | Wan Car Lhos

  6. #6
    Moderator smcd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    2,533
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    pokemon fire red (j) right? save worked fine for me. There are a couple known good versions for this. below is hash/checksum information for both, and both save fine for me in no$gba 2.5b

    Name: Pocket Monsters - Fire Red (Japan).gba
    Size: 16777216
    CRC32: 3b2056e9
    MD5: 47596db5a16556c60027e7bf372ec917
    SHA1: 04139887b6cd8f53269aca098295b006ddba6cfe

    The other known good version is :

    Name: Pocket Monsters - Fire Red (Japan) (Rev A).gba
    Size: 16777216
    CRC32: bb640df7
    MD5: ff25067b591ba324cd44689a9ba8aa48
    SHA1: 7c7107b87c3ccf6e3dbceb9cf80ceeffb25a1857

    I would check your rom isn't faulty. The files above are named according to the no-intro style (checked against that dat file in cmp)

  7. #7
    Stranger and foreigner peroikos's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    East Syracuse, NY, USA
    Posts
    8
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    I'm using #1636 from _______. Is it a corrupt rom? If it is, I guess I'll try one of the one's you listed.

    Edit: nvm, no rom posted, problem solved (see below)
    Last edited by peroikos; November 12th, 2007 at 21:15.
    "We're not doing it for money, we're doing it for a sh*tload of money!"

    You may also know me as:
    akrabbim | Wan Car Lhos

  8. #8
    16-bit Corpse | Moderator Agozer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Nokia Land
    Posts
    6,204
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    You might want to lay off the romlink posting and read the board rules before you find yourself banned.

    Just a suggestion, you know.


    Besides, you should use vba-over.ini settings. http://www.1emulation.com/forums/ind...howtopic=17613
    Last edited by Agozer; November 12th, 2007 at 19:59.

  9. #9
    Stranger and foreigner peroikos's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    East Syracuse, NY, USA
    Posts
    8
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Oh OK, I'm getting it to work now. I was using the vba-over.ini settings, but I didn't realize you had to delete the save states, which that thread was able to let me know. Thanks, problem solved.
    "We're not doing it for money, we're doing it for a sh*tload of money!"

    You may also know me as:
    akrabbim | Wan Car Lhos

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •