Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 30
  1. #1
    EmuTalk Member Slacking's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    10
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Graphics Error... HELP PLEASE.

    Anyone know any reason I might be getting this error? I get it for every game. If I restart the emulator, I still get the error. If I ignore the error and press okay, it just comes back again... and again... and again. I've tried uninstalling and reinstalling P64 and rebooting my computer, but the problem persists.

    This emulator worked fine for me for the last week without an issue. The error only began showing up today.




  2. #2
    Administrator & Programmer Danny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    897
    Mentioned
    20 Post(s)
    The rom may have got corrupted. What are your PC specs? you could also try changing plugins
    Last edited by Danny; April 26th, 2006 at 23:29.
    Proud Administrator Of Emutalk.net

    * I develop software for: iOS, Android, Mac, Linux & Windows.
    * Proficient in C#, C, C++, Objective-C, Java, Swift, Lua. Also know some: PHP.

    Want to help EmuTalk? Want us to relive the glory days of old? Ping me, I would love to hear your ideas


  3. #3
    EmuTalk Member Slacking's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    10
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    I don't think it's a rom problem, it does this with all of my roms. Not just this one. How would I go about changing plugins?

  4. #4
    Hungry For Answers
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Mounds View MN
    Posts
    958
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    what is your graphics card??????
    I love to help people in need RULES!!!!

  5. #5
    EmuTalk Member Slacking's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    10
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    I'm not emulator literate, I was a virgin to this until a week ago. What the **** is a graphics card, and where do I find out "what my graphics card is"?

  6. #6
    Administrator & Programmer Danny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    897
    Mentioned
    20 Post(s)
    A graphics card is what displays the graphics in your 3D & 2D games. Without one you would'nt be able to play any 3D games let alone Project 64. Right click on your desktop and select properties. Select settings and the specs of your graphics card will be displayed there.
    Proud Administrator Of Emutalk.net

    * I develop software for: iOS, Android, Mac, Linux & Windows.
    * Proficient in C#, C, C++, Objective-C, Java, Swift, Lua. Also know some: PHP.

    Want to help EmuTalk? Want us to relive the glory days of old? Ping me, I would love to hear your ideas


  7. #7
    16-bit Corpse | Moderator Agozer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Nokia Land
    Posts
    6,363
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Without a graphics card (or chip), you wouldn't be able to see anything on your monitor. Either go to the desktop properties like zion said, or run dxdiag.
    Last edited by Agozer; April 26th, 2006 at 23:50.

    ElektroDragon: I hate dying over and over. I don't learn from my mistakes. I couldn't play Dark Souls because of this. I bought the Bloodborne Collector's Edition. Like I said, I don't learn from my mistakes!

  8. #8
    EmuTalk Member Slacking's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    10
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Cool, found them. Intel Extreme Graphics 2.

    Now... if the problem lies here, what should I do??

  9. #9
    16-bit Corpse | Moderator Agozer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Nokia Land
    Posts
    6,363
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Slacking
    Cool, found them. Intel Extreme Graphics 2.

    Now... if the problem lies here, what should I do??
    The problem is most likely that. Intel Extreme Graphics is an integrated graphics chip, and chips are, in general not very good when it comes to gaming (and emulators that run 3D games especially).

    Still, you can try a few things:

    1) Change the graphics plugin. Either Jabo's Direct3D6 or some other plugin. Check the Plugins forum for alternatives. Jabo's Direct3D8 plugin is most likely a no-go.

    2) Updates the chip's drivers. http://www.intel.com should be the place to find driver updates for Intel products.

    3) Buy a graphics card. That is, an card that plugs into your AGP or PCI-E slot on the motherboard (PCI-slot cards are a dying breed, and they are slower). It's the best solution, but also the most costly. Of course, if you are using a laptop a graphics card is a no-go as well.
    Last edited by Agozer; April 26th, 2006 at 23:54.

    ElektroDragon: I hate dying over and over. I don't learn from my mistakes. I couldn't play Dark Souls because of this. I bought the Bloodborne Collector's Edition. Like I said, I don't learn from my mistakes!

  10. #10
    Hungry For Answers
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Mounds View MN
    Posts
    958
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    I love to help people in need RULES!!!!

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Graphics problems? READ THIS!
    By gandalf in forum Tutorials, Questions and General Talk
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: December 1st, 2005, 11:22
  2. Graphics Plugin doesn't work
    By heyo in forum Project64
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: October 17th, 2005, 21:42
  3. Graphics Programming Help/Suggestions
    By TJA in forum Emulator Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: October 5th, 2005, 08:31
  4. Replies: 15
    Last Post: June 5th, 2004, 06:22
  5. Replies: 3
    Last Post: September 24th, 2002, 13:26

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •