Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 43
  1. #1
    Moderator Knuckles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Floating Island
    Posts
    1,782
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)

    SSBM Guide - how to make it work

    Ok, I'm sorry to have to make a new thread for that, but since lots of people are having problems and that parts of the way to make it work are a bit everywhere, I will make a detailled guide in the first post for both the US and the EUR versions by using the released Dolwin Version 0.10 from the Dolwin Site.

    -------------------------------------------------------------------------
    CHECK LIST FOR THE US Version (in order):
    []--- Have the Super Smash Bros. Melee game ID GALE74
    []--- Have downloaded and installed the GALE74.patch in the dolwin /data/ folder from HERE
    []--- Have downloaded and installed the GALE74.map in the dolwin /data/ folder from HERE
    []--- Added the following lines in your GAMES.INI in the dolwin /data/ folder:
    Code:
    [GALE74]
    alttitle=Super Smash Brothers Melee (USA)
    comment=Playable with patch
    cf      = 8
    delay   = 3
    bailout = 2
    //arenaLo = 0x80403100
    //arenaHi = 0x81600000
    //loadrun = data\SSBM.s
    //lnfo    =
    []--- You are using the ported DOLPHIN video plugin for Dolwin from HERE, installed in the dolwin /plugins/ folder and it's the plugin selected in the video plugin configuration
    []--- You have all the 4 controllers ENABLED in the input plugin configuration
    END
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------



    -------------------------------------------------------------------------
    CHECK LIST FOR THE EUR Version (in order):
    []--- Have the Super Smash Bros. Melee game ID GALP36
    []--- Have downloaded and installed the GALP36.patch in the dolwin /data/ folder from HERE
    []--- Add the following lines in your GAMES.INI in the dolwin /data/ folder:
    Code:
    [GALP36]
    alttitle=Super Smash Brothers Melee (EUR)
    comment=Playable with patch
    cf      = 8
    delay   = 3
    bailout = 2
    //arenaLo = 0x80403100
    //arenaHi = 0x81600000
    //loadrun = data\SSBM.s
    //lnfo    =
    []--- You are using the ported DOLPHIN video plugin for Dolwin from HERE, installed in the dolwin /plugins/ folder and it's the plugin selected in the video plugin configuration
    END
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------



    If it doesn't work and you have PERFECTLY followed the check list, I dunno.
    Last edited by Knuckles; April 26th, 2005 at 04:07.

  2. #2
    I Love Dolphin cool13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Lithuania
    Posts
    38
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Wow thanks Knuckles
    OS:Windows XP Professional CPU:AMD Athlon(tm) XP 1700+ MEMORY:256MB RAM VIDEO:NVIDIA GeForce2 MX/MX 400 64.0 MB

  3. #3
    EmuTalk Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    97
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Wow Knux! Finally got it to work! Thanks to you ^^ You are the Best!
    Haha Guess I am the one that made you post these from the IRC haha
    I'm sure this will be a great help!

  4. #4
    EmuTalk Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    25
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    i get Gecko errors

  5. #5
    EmuTalk Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    What about the pal version?
    Or is there a Pal version at least? Because, I think that's the one I'm downloading...xS

  6. #6
    EmuTalk Member zaba_3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    486
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    PAL version = eur version
    vampireuk pwned you in irc

    clever words by groepaz:
    "i wonder how small your **** has to be that you have to put your system specs into your sig :=P "

  7. #7
    .: ManiacPC :. ManiacPC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Chile
    Posts
    12
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Unhappy Still nothing (...)

    Hey guys!

    I'd downloaded different versions from the smash brothers rom... Pal and Usa version...

    Then i follow the patch steps. (for each version rom, the map and game.ini instructions).

    I'm using the desired video plugin

    I had installed directx 9.0c

    And still nothing

    I'm still getting Gecko errors. (Tested in two pc's).

    it doesn't work for me, even with a radeon 9250, 1 gb ram, amd athlon 64 2800+... What should i do?
    .: ManiacPC :.

  8. #8
    EmuTalk Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Türkheim
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Ok, first of all: Thanks for this guide, great work.

    But there are a few things:

    1. I got the PAL version of SSBM and I had to plug all the controllers to get it working, so you may want to include that for the PAL version, too.

    2. The "hardware bailout" value given in the "games.ini" doesn't have any effect. I had to set it in "Options->Settings...", otherwise the game would crash without changing the language.

    3. Setting the hardware bailout to 3 gave me even more stability, when it was set to 2, it crashed occasionally.

    4. I'm getting a few graphics glitches, for example in the menu, see attachment (weird green background behind the text "Main Menu". Now, the weird thing is, that these glitches aren't in your video (from the other SSBM thread). It can't be my hardware, too since the game looks perfect in Dolphin. I'm using the Dolphin ported video plugin. So perhaps you know what's causing this.

    But all in all, the patch works fine, thanks for everything.

  9. #9
    EmuTalk Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    23
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    GC

    4. I'm getting a few graphics glitches, for example in the menu, see attachment (weird green background behind the text "Main Menu". Now, the weird thing is, that these glitches aren't in your video (from the other SSBM thread). It can't be my hardware, too since the game looks perfect in Dolphin. I'm using the Dolphin ported video plugin. So perhaps you know what's causing this.
    I think you need uncheck the "MMX/SSE" in Graphics and it will work.

  10. #10
    EmuTalk Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Türkheim
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Ah that did the trick, thanks for the info.

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: August 23rd, 2005, 19:09
  2. how can I make project64 work
    By zeek_me in forum Project64
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: April 17th, 2005, 01:51
  3. Federelli's Nemu64 .ini Wip
    By Federelli in forum Nemu64
    Replies: 95
    Last Post: April 4th, 2005, 16:25
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: January 18th, 2004, 10:10
  5. list of which games work best in which emulator
    By Olax in forum General Nintendo 64 Emulation Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: December 19th, 2001, 12:33

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •