What's new

Some new N64 on PS2 questions

Toasty

Sony battery
I know there's been some talk about this on the forums here, but as a newbie, I've got a few new questions. Note that all these questions are concerning real-time emulation.

1. Is emulation for the N64 on PS2 possible? If not, why not? (Also if not, ignore all my other questions.)
2. What are some reasons why this hasn't been done yet?
3. The main CPU on the N64 has instructions that are (almost?) completely backwards compatible with the instructions on the PS2's main CPU, right? (MIPS III) Would this at least somewhat simplify main CPU emulation? Also, wouldn't this make LLE nearly as feasible (if not more so) as HLE?
4. N64 emulation on the GameCube is obviously possible. What factors would make it harder/easier to accomplish on the PS2?
5. A few years ago, lack of documentation hindered many N64 emulator writers. Has the situation improved at all?

Thanks in advance for answering any of the questions above. I know the topic has been discussed before, but the previous posts didn't quite satisfy my curiosity.

Hacktarux

Emulator Developer
1. Is emulation for the N64 on PS2 possible? If not, why not? (Also if not, ignore all my other questions.)

I can't be sure if it's possible or not but i know that you will have high difficulties to manage memory. You have a lot more to store in memory than just the n64 ram, especially if you want to optimize your emulator.

3. The main CPU on the N64 has instructions that are (almost?) completely backwards compatible with the instructions on the PS2's main CPU, right? (MIPS III) Would this at least somewhat simplify main CPU emulation? Also, wouldn't this make LLE nearly as feasible (if not more so) as HLE?