Page 2 of 55 FirstFirst 12341252 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 547
  1. #11
    aufs Maul? Machiney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Damit wär die Frage beantwortet
    Posts
    28
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    which dummy file?! are we talking about exoboot now? sorry, maybe i am blind, but i couldnt find something like this..
    nub needs help, thx


  2. #12
    EmuTalk Member dreamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    171
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Machiney
    which dummy file?! are we talking about exoboot now? sorry, maybe i am blind, but i couldnt find something like this..
    nub needs help, thx
    the folder 'data' should be in exothingy, you said its empty. mount SOA on a virtual device and load it up, it should come up with a box saying 'open with' (it does for me). choose open as folder, and you get the contents, highlight all of this and right click. copy this and paste into the emtpy data folder, this may take a few minutes.

  3. #13
    aufs Maul? Machiney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Damit wär die Frage beantwortet
    Posts
    28
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by dreamer
    nope. it wont work for me, i get stuck when i create a patched .BIN
    it wont create a BIN, it creates a DR or something instead, what's going on...
    now i have the same problem like you..

    btw thx ladies for your help

  4. #14
    EmuTalk Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    226
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Machiney
    btw thx ladies for your help
    Just had a quick look to make sure. Nope, not wearing panties....

    Quote Originally Posted by dreamer
    it doesnt overight the old 1ST_READ.BIN \
    I never said it does overwrite the old 1st_read.bin. You do that. Apply the patch to a BACKUP copy of bonito.drv and bonito.drv gets bigger. The reason why is because the patch actually changes the data in the bonito.drv file into the data that should be in the 1st_read.bin So, all you have to do is rename the new, patched, bigger bonito.drv to 1st_read.bin and it is now effectively a new 1st_read.bin, NOT A DEVICE DRIVER.

    You then copy this new 1st_read.bin into the exoboot data folder overwriting the old 1st_read.bin that's already in there.

    Quote Originally Posted by dreamer
    the new 1ST_READ.BIN is really a device driver.
    One final time (for clarity), the patch actually changes the data in the bonito.drv file into the data that should be in the 1st_read.bin So, all you have to do is rename the new, patched, bigger bonito.drv to 1st_read.bin and it is now effectively a new 1st_read.bin, NOT A DEVICE DRIVER.

    If you cannot understand this concept, I can't really help you. I have described it as plainly as I can. You do understand that this patch COMPLETELY changes ALL of the data in bonito.drv into a working 1st_read.bin, and the only thing you need to do is rename the patched bonito.drv to 1st_read.bin and put it in exoboot's data folder overwriting the old 1st_read.bin (its has nothing in common with bonito.drv anymore), then you can continue with step 10.

    I hope this makes it clear enough for. All you have to do is apply the patch, rename the file, and put it in the data folder. It's pretty straightforward. Don't say, but it's still a device driver, because bonito.drv was only 21.8kb, whereas the file you copy to the data folder is around 5MB in size. Which, amazingly enough, is about the same size that the 1st_read.bin should be. That's because bonito.drv has now become 1st_read.bin, all you had to do was rename it.

    Quote Originally Posted by dreamer
    nope. it wont work for me, i get stuck when i create a patched .BIN
    it wont create a BIN, it creates a DR or something instead, what's going on...
    Your not IPS patching the 1st_read.bin file, you are IPS patching bonito.drv, so it won't be called .BIN until you rename it to 1st_read.bin, which is what you are meant to do after IPS patching it.

    Please be more specific, DR or something is not good enough. I am taking the time to type everything out in simple terms. How can I help you if you can't be bothered to find out the correct name of the "DR or somethin" file it creates. A pair of screenshots of the contents of the LIPS folder just before and just after the patch has been applied would help too. Take both screenshots with the patch and the bonito.drv files in the LIPS folder, one before you apply the patch and one just after you apply the patch. Make sure you select "view -> details" on the window before taking the screenshot, so that file sizes are displayed. Also make sure extensions are displayed too.

    BTW, I just tried the patch on my non-echelon bonito.drv which is 36kb in size (not even the correct size), and it does make the bonito.drv about 5.3MB in size without creating any new files, so I know it works properly, even on my incorrect bonito.drv file. What size is your bonito.drv then??? Is it the correct size (as described in my walkthroug), or is it 36kb (like my non-echelon version), or is it a different size again??

    Now, please don't take this the wrong way. I'm getting the impression that most people now have the game running, as you and Machiney are the only ones who have reported problems. However, judging by all the problems you are having with my walkthrough, I also get the impression that you don't fully understand what you are doing when following these instructions. Have you ever applied an IPS patch before this one? Do you understand what an IPS patcher does? Have you ever used Exoboot to rebuild a .cdi image before? If the answer to 1 or more of these questions is no, then you should really read through some more threads with information pertaining to what area you are lacking in. That's how I learnt all this stuff, by reading as much as what I could about what I wanted to know. Your search tools are your best friend. I don't know everything about PC's (i don't think anyone can), but I do know how to find the information I need to learn whatever is required. No-one ever gave me explicit instruction like I have done for you, but I can't help you if you cannot describe the problem explicitly.

    Hope this helps.
    Last edited by aika-san; August 29th, 2004 at 01:01.
    PIV 3.2HT, 800Mhz FSB, Asus P4P800D, Radeon 9800 Pro 128Mb, SBLive 5.1 Platinum, 1GB DDR Ram, 2*120GB Seagate RAID, Jet4A Blower, 400W PSU, XP Pro Build 2600 SP2, LG Flatron 37" LCD, Logitech Z5500D 5.1

  5. #15
    EmuTalk Member dreamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    171
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    okay, i understand that. but when you said 'replace' i thought it would actually replace the file, as it was the same name. as i had tried to follow your guide as best i could, i had put the new file (yes, about 5 mbs) into the data folder, and tried to make an image. i deleted the old 1st_read_bin because it doesnt overright the file automatically, is this wrong? anyway, it gave an error while trying to make an image and said there was no .bin file in the folder.

    i am probably having problems with this because i have never used these programs/patched/ips/hacked any other DC games. hmm, i shall report back after i try the whole thing again.

    my only question is when you say 'Replace' do i delete the old 1st_read_bin, or just put them both in the same folder. it doesnt automatically overright even when they are named the same for some reason. okay
    later

  6. #16
    EmuTalk Member dreamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    171
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    man...im lost...i get completely what your saying, just Exoboot wont make the cdi, i have selected the data folder when it is open, but it's always the same -


    'Preparing directories and copying files:
    Please Wait....
    The system cannot find the path specified.
    The system cannot find the path specified.
    The system cannot find the path specified.
    The system cannot find the path specified.

    Running BINHACK

    IP.BIN/1ST_READ.BIN Self-Boot Hacker - Echelon 2000

    Enter name of binary: Enter name of bootsector: Error opening 1ST_READ.BIN.

    Copying over hacked binary


    Mkisofs: Warning: -C specified without -M: old session data will not be merged.
    Mkisofs: No such file or directory. Invalid node - C:\Documents
    bin2boot - makes selfboot cdi from bin, cue, or iso
    beta made by xeal - xeal.cjb.net

    filename length: 8
    Extension: .iso
    The file data.iso does not exist.
    Could Not Find C:\DOCUME~1\Jamie\MYDOCU~1\EMULAT~1\SKIE SO~1\data.iso
    Could Not Find C:\DOCUME~1\Jamie\MYDOCU~1\EMULAT~1\SKIE SO~1\*.tmp
    The system cannot find the file specified.
    Your selfboot game f.cdi is ready.You will find it here:C:\Documents and Setting
    s\Jamie\My Documents\Emulation\skies of arcadia worky thiny
    Enjoy
    Press any key to continue . . .'

    whats 'data.iso' i dont have it yet cos the damn thing wont make it >_>. anyway that's what came up in dos...u know what this means? and sorry to bother you with this again.

  7. #17
    EmuTalk Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    226
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Here. I've made an easier way for you to do it:

    1. copy bonito.drv from your mounted image into your LIPS folder
    2. put stranges patch there too
    3. get the aikasan.exe file i have attached here and put that in there too.
    4. Apply the patch to bonito.drv
    5. bonito.drv should now be around 5mb
    6. don't attempt to rename it. just run aikasan.exe
    7. now you should find there is a 1st_read.bin file there, also around 5mb in size.
    8. don't attempt to rename it. aikasan program has done it correctly for you!
    9. just copy the 1st_read.bin aikasan created into exoboot folder. windows will warn that you are going to overwrite. click yes.

    continue with step 10 of the original document.
    Last edited by aika-san; August 29th, 2004 at 01:44.
    PIV 3.2HT, 800Mhz FSB, Asus P4P800D, Radeon 9800 Pro 128Mb, SBLive 5.1 Platinum, 1GB DDR Ram, 2*120GB Seagate RAID, Jet4A Blower, 400W PSU, XP Pro Build 2600 SP2, LG Flatron 37" LCD, Logitech Z5500D 5.1

  8. #18
    EmuTalk Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    226
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by dreamer
    Could Not Find C:\DOCUME~1\Jamie\MYDOCU~1\EMULAT~1\SKIE SO~1\data.iso
    dude, you have exoboot buried like how many directorys down. try putting it in c:\exoboot

    not c:\blaaahf\ghjvhnbhb\ghjbghkghhjkl\jkbhj bjk ljbn\ghuhjhjklhj\exoboot

    exoboot does not like long pathnames or pathnames containing spaces or strange characters.
    PIV 3.2HT, 800Mhz FSB, Asus P4P800D, Radeon 9800 Pro 128Mb, SBLive 5.1 Platinum, 1GB DDR Ram, 2*120GB Seagate RAID, Jet4A Blower, 400W PSU, XP Pro Build 2600 SP2, LG Flatron 37" LCD, Logitech Z5500D 5.1

  9. #19
    EmuTalk Member dreamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    171
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    hmm, thanks...but before i try that prog (thanks a lot for helping) i must ask - is all it does 'change the file name'? i can see the extentions, and REPLACED the 1ST_READ.BIN.
    it is now properly replaced, however, it STILL doesnt work, i appear to be stuck at stage 12, as exoboot finds a whole bunch of errors and refused to create SOA.CDI (soa - just a name for the file). i can copy what the dos window has put here:
    ' Preparing directories and copying files:
    Please Wait....
    The system cannot find the path specified.
    The system cannot find the path specified.
    The system cannot find the path specified.
    The system cannot find the path specified.

    Running BINHACK

    IP.BIN/1ST_READ.BIN Self-Boot Hacker - Echelon 2000

    Enter name of binary: Enter name of bootsector: Error opening 1ST_READ.BIN.

    Copying over hacked binary


    Mkisofs: Warning: -C specified without -M: old session data will not be merged.
    Mkisofs: No such file or directory. Invalid node - C:\Documents
    bin2boot - makes selfboot cdi from bin, cue, or iso
    beta made by xeal - xeal.cjb.net

    filename length: 8
    Extension: .iso
    The file data.iso does not exist.
    Could Not Find C:\DOCUME~1\Jamie\MYDOCU~1\EMULAT~1\SKIE SO~1\data.iso
    Could Not Find C:\DOCUME~1\Jamie\MYDOCU~1\EMULAT~1\SKIE SO~1\*.tmp
    The system cannot find the file specified.
    Your selfboot game SOA.cdi is ready.You will find it here:C:\Documents and Setti
    ngs\Jamie\My Documents\Emulation\skies of arcadia worky thiny
    Enjoy
    Press any key to continue . . .[img]file:///C:/DOCUME%7E1/JAMIE/LOCALS%7E1/TEMP/moz-screenshot.jpg[/img]

  10. #20
    EmuTalk Member dreamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    171
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by aika-san
    dude, you have exoboot buried like how many directorys down. try putting it in c:\exoboot

    not c:\blaaahf\ghjvhnbhb\ghjbghkghhjkl\jkbhj bjk ljbn\ghuhjhjklhj\exoboot

    exoboot does not like long pathnames or pathnames containing spaces or strange characters.
    oh okay ^_^ lets hope this damn thing works after i put lower the extensions >_> , brb

    Edit: i may make mistakes cos im tired, but u know what i mean o.o
    it's 2:08 am here!

Page 2 of 55 FirstFirst 12341252 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Skies of Arcadia - Maybe this will work??
    By aika-san in forum Chankast
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: August 14th, 2004, 00:21
  2. Skies of Arcadia (plz read)
    By primoitt in forum Chankast
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: July 7th, 2004, 15:41
  3. Replies: 6
    Last Post: June 13th, 2004, 21:50
  4. Skies of Arcadia
    By Phreaky in forum Chankast
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: June 4th, 2004, 19:00
  5. comp list of the public beta
    By 3x3cUt0r in forum Apollo
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: December 24th, 2001, 19:57

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •